337 hours, 50 minutes…

 

…or, National Novel Writing Month begins in two weeks. That’s crazy. What’s even crazier is the fact that I have decided to aim for 75k instead of the usual 50k. I’ve been reading the Overachiever’s Thread over on the NaNo forums, and I’ve realized that aiming for 75k isn’t really all that odd. At least one person on there is aiming for 1 million words! That’s 100k every 3 days. She will be my new hero if she succeeds – hell, she’s my hero just for trying it!

I’ve written 8k a day before. During last year’s NaNo, I reached 5k several days in a row. I won NaNo a week early last year and Camp NaNo (July) two weeks early, and I won Camp NaNo (August) by writing almost solely on weekends. I should be able to manage 75k (or 2500 words a day) just fine.

What I’m not so sure about is the fact that I have pledged 10k the first day of NaNo. The first day is a Tuesday. I have to work that day. I’m a school photographer, so my hours vary from day to day, but I still will likely have to get up somewhere between 4:30 and 5:30. Hopefully it’ll be a short day and I’ll be home by 2, but there are some days (like today) that I don’t get home until around 5.

Either way, I will almost undoubtedly have between 3 and 5 hours to write that first day. I can manage 1k in 20 minutes, which puts me around 3k/hr, which means I can write 9k-15k, depending on how much time I actually spend writing versus how much time I spend in front of my computer wondering what to write.

I’m trying to make a list of scenes to write about this year. I have about 40 so far, so if I can stretch each scene into at least 1k, I should be okay (assuming I can think of 75 scenes). Some might have to be stretched to 2k. I think I can do it.

 

Posted on October 17, 2011, in CampNaNo, NaNoWriMo, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good lick.
    Ps. The number of people attempting one million words is five(myself included…)

Leave a Reply

