“I don’t think you know that I believe in you…”

 

I haven’t updated since NaNo started. I’ve been too busy working on my stories. This is my first year as an overachiever. Well, last year I was an accidental overachiever, but I didn’t overachieve by that much (67k total).

This year is different. I knew that I couldn’t finish a novel at 50k, and I knew that if I focused and wrote, I could write more than 50k in a month. So I set my goal to 75k or a finished novel, whichever I would be able to do in a month.

Then on the first day of NaNo I participated in a challenge set forth by another overachiever, and I set a Day One Ridiculous Goal (DORG) for myself of 15k. I thought I was crazy, but I also figured that it wouldn’t hurt to try. I thought I would get as close as I could and then just be proud of that. Instead, I wrote 19k. I could have written more if I hadn’t been at a write-in and needed to drive home before midnight. Next year I am definitely aiming for 20k on the first day.

I hit 50k a little bit after noon on day 6. I hit 100k on day 14. I finished my first novel (Tilt Your Head and Smile) at 103k exactly. I am currently working on a fan fiction piece I just started and my NaNo from last year, which still needs to be finished. I am also participating in 50k weekend, during which time I will be starting a new story, whose plot I have only started to sketch out. I might be pantsing that more than I usually like, but that’s okay. It’ll be part of the challenge.

I’m sitting at 143k right now. I’m hoping to hit 150k tonight, but I will definitely do it by tomorrow at the latest. If I succeed in the 50k weekend challenge (the Friday, Saturday, and Sunday after Thanksgiving), I will have a total word count of over 200k for this month. That is more than I ever thought I could possibly do. I am so proud of myself, and that is a feeling I have not felt in a really long time.

Thank you, National Novel Writing Month, for giving me a little bit of confidence back, even if it’s for something that most people don’t really understand.

 

Posted on November 22, 2011, in NaNoWriMo, The Story of Em, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

