2012 writing schedule

I’m participating in WriYe for the first time in 2012. I originally signed up to write 500k, but then I started second guessing myself. I’m planning to write 250k for next NaNo. If I can write that much in a month, surely I could push myself to do more than 5o0k all year, right? I was also thinking of the fact that several people are aiming to do a NaNo every month of the year. At first I thought that I would never be able to do that, that it would be too much pressure. Besides, I didn’t even think I had 12 novel ideas to work on.

I’m realizing that that’s not true, not if I could everything from random thoughts that might turn into a novel on day and novels that I already have complete drafts of but which need editing. Here is a list of all the novel ideas I have at the moment:

Completed Drafts
Tilt Your Head and Smile
Learning to Lie

Works in Progress
The Story of Em
God’s Love
Ascendance
A Chill Wind Blows
Degeneration

Ideas
Learning to Lie book 2
Learning to Lie book 3
Dvorak/amnesia prompt
Prep school dream
Spoof of princess stories
Fat girl
Small town/neighbors

That’s 14 different ideas in various stages of production. Considering I need to write at least 2 drafts on any novel before it’s decent, I have plenty of material to get me through a month – and plenty of material to get me through to my goal for 2012: 1,000,000.

Yes, I’m planning on writing a million words in 2012. I know people who have written that much for NaNo, so writing it for WriYe doesn’t really sound all that crazy. I’ve done the math. That’s 100k a month for 8 months and then 250k for NaNo, and I’d still have 3 months off to edit and plan and everything. Technically, planning counts toward your word count, but I want to see if I can hit a million just by using what I write in the novels.

Now for my tentative writing schedule. I say tentative because I’m not sure which story I will feel like writing at any particular time. As I’ve already listed, I have 14 ideas to work on, and I could come up with more. I’m listing them now in order of importance, but that could change. Plus, as I’ve learned this month, I can get behind schedule, so if I don’t finish one novel when I say I will, I will have to adjust my schedule accordingly. That said, here is my writing schedule for 2012:

January: JaNoWriMo (100k)
Rewrite Tilt Your Head and Smile

February: (50k)
Finish The Story of Em

March: (0)
Reread Learning to Lie, Tilt Your Head and Smile, and The Story of Em. Make notes on what to fix.

April: Script Frenzy (20k)
Rewrite Degeneration

May: (100k)
Rewrite The Story of Em

June: CampNaNo (100k)
Write Learning to Lie, book 2

July: (100k)
Write Degeneration as a novel.

August: CampNaNo (100k)
Rewrite Learning to Lie, book 2

September: (100k)
Finish Ascendance

October: (100k)
Rewrite Degeneration

November: NaNoWriMo (250k)
Write Learning to Lie, book 3 (100k)
Rewrite Ascendance (100k)
Unknown (50k)

December: (0)
Rest and read my final versions of things.
Prepare for WriYe 2013

It’ll be a busy year, but I’m looking forward to it. If I can do what I have listed on here, I will have decent drafts of six different novels and a first draft of a seventh one. I’m not entirely sure I can pull that all off, but it’s worth a shot. I know I can write 50k in a week, so writing 100k in a month shouldn’t be too horrible. Hopefully I’ll be able to write a little more in the summer months when I’m not working to make up for the months when I am, but we’ll see. A million a year is less than 3k a day. I can write that in an hour when I’m focused.

I want to be a writer. I have since I was a little girl. There’s very little chance of that actually happening, but it will definitely never happen if I just sit around thinking about stories instead of writing them. This is going to be my year. I can feel it.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

