One step forward, two steps back…

I have two more days before the new year starts. That means I have two more days before my year of writing begins. I’m rather nervous. I’ve spent so much time waiting for the new year to begin so I can start writing, when I completely forgot that I should have been editing Learning to Lie.

I’ve printed out the second half that I wrote during NaNo this year, and I’ve started reading it. The problem is that I’m not really sure where I want it to go. I have a huge plot hole that I created for myself. I could have just left it alone but no – I had to make Isri know something that Loki has to figure out, only I have no idea what it could be. Something about what happened when he was younger and at war, but I’m not sure what else.

I’m not due to start working on the sequel until June anyway, which means I have time to work on it, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to fix the plot hole in time. I really like that novel, and I’m really excited to write the rest of it. I love my characters, and I can’t wait to see what else they do. I just can’t get completely behind that novel because I don’t have it all planned yet. That was find when I was writing the first one, but now it’s getting to the point where things are going to start happening. They need to go see Kali’s family, but I can’t think of a good reason for it yet, and I’m not sure what to do about the whole Isri thing.

That said, I’m still looking forward to the year of writing. Worst case scenario, I write something else instead of the rest of the Learning to Lie series. I have a lot of ideas. I just need to write them.

I’m also trying to learn Dvorak before the new year. I should have started sooner. I know where all the keys are, which is great, but I’m still really slow. I’m averaging about 16 words a minute, which puts me around 1k an hour. That’s not horrible or anything considering I haven’t even been learning for a week, but I can theoretically type 5k an hour in Qwerty. I need to type at least 4k a day in January to hit my goal – I can’t risk it by typing that slowly.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Learning to Lie, Planning, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

