Book 1: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I was at my aunt’s house a few weeks ago when we got on the topic of books. My aunt commented that I must have read The Hunger Games before, and she was shocked to discover that I hadn’t. This wasn’t the first time I had heard about the trilogy,  but it was at that moment that I knew I must add the books to my list of 52 books to read in 52 weeks. It wasn’t until I discovered that my sister was reading the first one and wouldn’t stop squealing about how amazing it was that I knew it would be the first one I read this year.

Title: The Hunger Games
Author: Suzanne Collins
Page Count: About 375
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young adult/dystopia

Rating: 10/10

Summary: 
Every year, a boy and a girl between the ages of 12 and 18 are chosen from each of the 12 districts of the country that used to be North America. Those 24 children are then placed in an arena and forced to fight to the death. Only one can survive. These are the Hunger Games, and this novel tells the story of Katniss Everdeen, one of the tributes from District 12. Can she manage to make it to the end, or will she be killed off with the others?

Thoughts:
A definite page turner. I finished the novel in 24.5 hours – 9.5 once you account for sleep and time spent with the family, when I couldn’t read. I read the first 40 pages while we drove to my aunt’s house, and I was crying most of the way there. Granted, part of that is probably because I’ve been really emotional and weepy the last year or so, but part of it is definitely because it was a very emotional couple of scenes. I cried during several other parts in the book. The only reason I haven’t already started reading the second one is because I wanted to write this review without being influenced by the second one. Also, my sister isn’t done with the third one yet, and I don’t want to finish the second one until I know I can get the third one from her.

I highly recommend this book. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this for small children, but I definitely find it worth reading. I can’t believe I didn’t read this sooner.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This sounds interesting and maybe I should get hold of a copy.

    Great review

    Paul

    • Aw, thanks! I definitely think you should give it a try. It’s a great series! (Also, sorry I’m only just now replying. Your comment was marked as spam for some reason, so I only just saw it.)

  2. I’ve heard alot about the book, still not sure I want to read it. Guess it will have to wait for one of those times I’m in the mindset for it. Glad you liked it.

    • Yeah, this definitely isn’t a series to start unless you’re prepared for it. I think it’s great, but it’s definitely a difficult book to read.

  3. This was the first book I read in 2012 for the 52 Books challenge, too! I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Mockingjay.

    • Haha. It’s good to know someone else started the year off with this series! I can’t wait to read Mockingjay. I read the first few chapters, but then my sister took her book back. I can’t read it until she finishes. 😦 I’m hoping that will be really soon.

  4. I was dragging my feet about reading this popular trilogy but finally gave in and started at the end of last year and was totally engrossed. I just started #2 and can’t wait to finish the entire trilogy.

Leave a Reply

