“The time will come for us to finally win…”

For the first time since January Novel Writing Month started, I feel like I actually know what I’m doing. I’ve flopped back and forth between working on Tilt and Em, and I think I’ve finally figured out where I’m going with both of them. For the first time this month, I’m really excited to be working on Tilt Your Head and Smile. When I started writing it in November, I was writing it in third person past tense. Then week two hit, and I couldn’t imagine writing it all like that. I decided to write it in blog format, and it was much more fun to write. It wasn’t, however, very much fun to read.

I came up with the wrong solution to the problem. Instead of finding a more interesting way to write the story, I should have stopped to think about why what I was writing wasn’t interesting as I was writing it. It wasn’t interesting because there was no real main character. There was a just a nameless, faceless narrator who complained about her life. That wasn’t entertaining. It was just a huge rant about why I hate my job. The topic that my novel was supposed to focus on – unemployment after graduation – was glossed over. It was horrible.

I’m still counting the nearly 5k I wrote during the first 2 days of JanNo, but they’re in a separate file. Now I’m back to writing in third person past tense, and I’m enjoying myself so much more. Instead of mentioning in an off-hand way that she has friends, I show her out with her friends. I’ve only written 3k so far today (on that novel, at least) but I already know that it’s a lot better.

I have one more bit of good news. An article I wrote has been featured in this month’s issue of Wildflower Magazine. It’s called “Rethinking Resolutions” and is featured on page 54. I’m really excited. I know it’s a rather small magazine, but one of my goals this year was to build up a portfolio, and I’ve started to do that now. They didn’t post the online article that they were supposed to, and I’m not really sure why, but I’ll try to just focus on the fact that they published an article I wrote at all. 🙂

Posted on January 5, 2012, in The Story of Em, Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

