Second week of the year – off to a good start

I showed my mother my article in Wildflower magazine yesterday. I hesitated because I wasn’t sure if she would like what I had to say or if she would think it was stupid that I submitted my work to a magazine that doesn’t offer any money for people’s work. It turns out I had nothing to worry about. In fact, it was good that I showed her. She really liked my article, and she went so far as to say that that is what I should be doing with my life. She already got me a seasonal job as a school photographer, which provides me around $10k a year after taxes. It’s not great, and I actually hate my job most of the time, but it’s still a job, and I’m extremely grateful to have it.

I’m even more grateful, though, that my mother no longer seems to be encouraging me to find some other dull job to occupy my team. She thinks I should spend my time improving my writing and trying to find a way to make money off my writing. I’m not really as optimistic as she is, but it was still nice to hear that she believes in me and my writing. I know a lot of people whose parents don’t support their writing at all and think of it as a waste of time, so I’m glad my mother supports mine – even if she hates NaNoWriMo and everything to do with it. Maybe if I show her some of what I’ve written during NaNo she’ll change her mind about that, too. I’m not as optimistic about that, but it’s still worth a shot.

In other good news, I’m a little over 10k into draft two of Tilt Your Head and Smile, bringing me up to 20k total for my JanNo so far. I’m still about 6k behind where I’m supposed to be, but it’s only 4 pm. I still have time to catch up, perhaps even get ahead.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

