“I shouldn’t have wasted those days…”

I seem to spend more time thinking about writing than actually writing recently. After I finish this post, that’s going to change. I hope. I’m about 22k into Tilt, and I’ve covered the first two months of the timeline. At this rate, the novel with end around 200k. I can’t let that happen. I’m hoping that I can manage to keep the remaining months to the 5k allotted to them. If so, I can still finish this thing in less than 120k.

I’ve come up with a new writing schedule for this month. Writing 3k a day hasn’t worked so well this month, and now it’s time to make up for the time that I wasted. I’m only about a day behind my goal of 100k for the month, but I’m not worried about that. I’m worried about not finishing this draft, which I really need to finish. I can’t fall behind my 2012 schedule in the first month. So here’s my new schedule:

Jan. 11-17:
July-December 2010
This is where April finishes up her summer job and still has hope that she will find the job she wants, the job she went to college for.

Jan. 18-24:
January-June 2011
This is where April loses faith in her ability to find a job. She gets more and more depressed and feels like a failure.

Jan. 25-31:
July-December 2011
This is where April finally finds a job and has to deal with everyone assuming she is only as smart as her job requires. She is almost as miserable as she was when she was unemployed. She tries to fix it the only way she knows how.

This shouldn’t really be a horrible schedule to stick to. It will take more dedication than I’ve shown for the first part of the month, but I know I can do it. That’s a month a day with one day a week left to either catch up or get ahead (all right – it will be to catch up). I can do this.

My goal for today: finish July 2010.

I can do this.

But first I must make more coffee.

Posted on January 11, 2012, in Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

