January wrap-up

I had two goals for January: write 100,000 words and finish draft two of Tilt Your Head and Smile. I’m happy to say that I at least accomplished one of those goals. I finished the month with 100,096 words. I managed 78k in Tilt, 9.5k in Em, which I wrote at the beginning of the month before I got back into Tilt, and 12k in my new story, which I’m calling Patrick/Jeremy right now because I can’t think of anything better yet.

I’m not really happy with the progress I’ve made with Tilt, but I’m going to try to reserve judgment until I actually finish the novel and leave it alone for a while. I looked over my original outline this morning and used that to make a new one. According to this new outline, I’m about five chapters away from finishing it. That’s my first goal for this month: finish this novel. Then, I’m going to try to finish Em. I’m also hoping to write 50k this month. It’s funny how 1725 (the minimum word count per day) suddenly seems to small. Four months ago, I was terrified that I wouldn’t be able to write the 1667 a day needed for NaNo.

It’s amusing how quickly things change.

Posted on February 2, 2012, in outlining, Planning, The Story of Em, Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I went into NaNo the same way, thinking I might be able to do the 1667 per day if I made sure I worked hard. It turned out that it was way easier than I thought, and I often doubled it. It’s amazing how we can rise to a challenge. Congrats!

    • Thanks! It really is amazing how much having a deadline can push me to do more than I ever thought possible. Now I just need to find a story that inspires me as much as your Mirrors trilogy seems to inspire you. πŸ™‚

      • Want a laugh? I should be rereading the outline right now for book 2, but I have this other idea, a character and a world, that are eating my brain alive. Distraction is becoming a problem. :p

      • Haha. Well, it’s still inspired you even if you want to work on something else right now. πŸ˜€ I’ve still found it’s good to have another project to work on, though. That way if you start feeling like your current novel is crap, you can work on something else and hope by the time you’ve returned to it you don’t find it quite so horrible…but maybe that’s just me!

      • I don’t let myself stop or do any rereading until I’m done the draft when I’m writing a novel. It’s pretty much NaNo ever time. I’m going to be doing that with book 2 (Possession) soon, actually, details to be publicly announced as soon as they’re decided. And believe me, if you look at my project status page on my blog, you’ll see that there’s always a LOT more than one project going on in my brain. I have a serious problem with doing one thing at a time, as in complete inability. Could be worse though, so I’m not complaining. πŸ™‚

        The truth is, though, that it’s writing itself that inspires me, not the trilogy specifically. I love to write, I love to tell stories. And I find that the more I do it, the more I love it. So I just keep going.

Leave a Reply

