Book 11: On What Grounds (Coffeehouse Mystery #1) by Cleo Coyle

Title: On What Grounds
Author: Cleo Coyle
Page Count: 288
F/NF Fiction
Genre Mystery

Rating: 8/10

Summary:
Clare Cosi returns to New York City to run the Village Blend coffeehouse, where she worked ten years ago before she left to raise her daughter in New Jersey. Her life is thrown into chaos, however, when she comes into work to find one of her baristas lying at the bottom of the cellar stairs, close to death. The police are convinced that it was an accident, but Clare isn’t so sure. With the comatose barista’s stepmother threatening to sue the coffeehouse for everything and her ex-mother-in-law trying to get her back with her ex, can Clare find out the truth before she loses the coffeeshop forever?

Opinion:
I really enjoyed this book. It’s the first one I read on my newly purchased Nook Tablet (yes, I joined the dark side and bought a Nook this weekend – but I still love paper books!), and I read it fairly quickly. The characters were interesting, and I was constantly trying to figure out whodunnit. I also really enjoyed all the coffee facts presented in the book. There are several scenes that read more as a lecture on the proper storage and usage techniques than as a story, but since I love coffee and find everything coffee-related fascinating, I really enjoyed those scenes. For instance, I didn’t realize that you were supposed to store coffee in dark, cool places. That’s where we store ours, but I hadn’t realized we did that for a reason. I also enjoyed that she included recipes at the end for food and drinks mentioned in the book.

The book wasn’t flawless – Clare does talk about her breasts a bit more than I found necessary – but it was an entertaining read, and I’ve already started reading the second, so it’s not like I can pretend I don’t like her writing style. Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick, fun read – and especially for those who enjoy espresso drinks and want to learn more about coffee.

Posted on March 12, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

