Where did March go?

I can’t believe there are only ten days left in March. I knew this was going to be a hectic month, considering work picked up dramatically this month, but I didn’t think I would this tired all the time. Part of my problem is that I’ve been distracted with my new Nook, I know, but a decent part of why I’m behind is that I’m tired all the time. Well, that and I just can’t get into my story anymore. I paused in the middle of writing a romantic scene, and now I can’t get back into it. They’re just sitting there, kissing, and it’s rather awkward. I’m having trouble trying to get myself to focus on it.

The good news is that I’ve managed to write the first outline for Degeneration, which I’m going to write for Script Frenzy. I have about 22 scenes, which means I should be able to hit 100 pages easily if each scene is at least 5 pages. I’m not too worried about it. I’ll try to come up with a more detailed outline sooner, but if this is the only outline I have going into it, I still think I’ll be all right.

For the past few days, I’ve been rather preoccupied with two things. The first thing is that I’ve started doing my first read through of draft 2 of Tilt Your Head and Smile. I’m somewhere between half and two-thirds of the way through, and I’m actually enjoying it. I’ve already made several notes of big things to change, and the words definitely need some polish, but overall I’m enjoying it. I was so afraid I was going to hate it when I read back through it. I’m glad that’s not the case – at least not yet! I’m trying to just mark major things that need to be fixed (like plot inconsistencies or notes about scenes to add) right now. My next step will be to fix those major things on the computer and then to print everything out and edit a hard copy. Or maybe I’ll try to fix up the prose first and then print off my fixed version. I haven’t decided yet. Since work will most likely be over by the time I finally get that far, I’ll probably just do most of it on my computer.

The second thing that’s been on my mind is this: I’m going to be one of the Atlanta Script Frenzy MLs! For anyone who doesn’t know, MLs are the people who organize regional writing events. One of the NaNo MLs and I have been talking about where to have the kickoff party and what sort of events we want to do. It’s been pretty fun. We haven’t been listed on the website yet, but I’ve been told we will be soon. I’m excited. Our region was pretty dead last April, and I’m hoping we can encourage some people to get out and write this year. We have one of the biggest regions in the nation when it comes to NaNo, but participation during Screnzy drops tremendously. It’s rather sad, really.

I’m about 12k behind where I’m supposed to be for March. I need to get caught up on that. I also want to finish reading Tilt Your Head, and I have to write 2-4 pep talks for Script Frenzy. I also have to figure out where to have write-ins and when the kickoff will be and other things like that. Plus my boyfriend’s father just gave me the Mistborn trilogy to read, so I want to start that. I actually bought him that series for Christmas, so I’m glad he likes it enough to recommend to someone else. I feel bad because his parents are always giving me books to read that I never do, so I actually want to try to read this one soon this time. Oh, and The Hunger Games comes out tomorrow at midnight. I’m probably not going to the midnight showing, but that’s definitely going to take up most of my evening on Friday.

At least I won’t have to work as much in April. After next week we drop from like 60 cameras a day to 10, so they’ll be laying a lot of people off, and those of us who remain won’t be working as often as we used to. I’m sort of looking forward to that since a) I know I’m one of the ones they’re keeping (since I signed up to work proms) and b) I don’t have any bills to pay, so I can afford to cut back on work a bit. That’s good because if I’m going to be writing and MLing, I’m going to need all the time off I can get.

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Degeneration, NaNoWriMo, Planning, Screnzy, The Story of Em, Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

