“Something’s scratching its way out…”

It’s the first day of April, which means that it’s the first day of Script Frenzy! The minimum daily page count this month is 3.3. I’m already at 11 pages, and I still have almost nine hours left today to write. Granted, that’s only about 2,000 words, but that’s still more than I’ve written in about two weeks, so I’m going to be excited about this.

I think I just need to take a break from The Story of Em and Natalie. The latter was started on a whim (and was really just supposed to be a short story), and the former was meant to be my 50k-weekend novel. I never really thought it would take me this long to write it, and now that I’ve thought about it some more, I’m not really sure I’m qualified to write about that sort of relationship. Maybe I’ll return to those stories eventually, but for now I have too many other ideas that actually interest me, so I’m going to focus on them.

My screenplay this month is titled Degeneration. It follows 17-year-old Adelyn Carter as she tries to survive her favorite aunt’s wedding and decide which college she will attend the following fall. I wrote this story for my first Screnzy back in 2008, but I wasn’t happy with the draft at all. I’m hoping a complete rewrite will help me figure out where I want this story to go.

So far I’ve written the first scene, which was really all I had planned on writing today. I was hoping to hit the minimum word count last night and finish the scene at our write-in this afternoon, but I got lucky and got lost in the scene last night and ended up writing ten pages in the first hour of Screnzy. 1572 words an hour is terribly slow compared to my NaNo average (which I got up to 3k in 45 minutes once), but I’ll take it.

My new goal is to write 30,000 word in April, which comes to 1,000 words a day. I highly doubt my screenplay will be that long (at my current rate it will come to about 15,000 words), but I’m determined to keep writing. Maybe I’ll write a few short stories to make up the difference or something. I haven’t decided yet. All I know is that I’ve taken some time off from my writing goals, and now it’s time to get focused again. Work is going to start cutting back (in fact, aside from a 3 hour meeting tomorrow morning I’m off all week), and now I can finally concentrate on what really matters to me: writing. I’ve been thinking about different novel ideas a lot recently, and it’s time for me to start getting them down on paper.

In other semi-related news, the Script Frenzy kickoff party went well yesterday. We had 8 people total instead of the 12 that I expected, which means that I really didn’t need to make 15 goodie bags, but otherwise it was a lot of fun. The other ML, my boyfriend, and another participant we hang out with a lot got there early and tried to hold a few tables. We ended up playing a few plot games (including one that lead to several interesting plot ideas, such as “Babe meets Citizen Cane,” “Hunger Games meets Lifetime Original Movie” and “Arrested Development meets PBS Documentary”), and we got to know a few of the participants. One of those people is also at our first write-in of the month, which is exciting. We had absolutely zero regional events last Screnzy, and I’m hoping we can start building participation again. I know Screnzy will never be as big as NaNo, but hopefully we can still make it fun.

And now that I’ve finally updated this blog after a far too long absence, it’s time for me to get back to my screenplay. I’m hoping I can finish the next scene today, the one where Adelyn learns she has to go to her aunt’s wedding. There will be lots of screaming and protesting. I’m looking forward to it already. 😀

Posted on April 1, 2012, in Degeneration, Screnzy, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

