Book 15: The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life by Melisser Elliott

Title: The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life: Cruelty-Free Crafts, Recipes, Beauty Secrets, and More
Author: Melisser Elliott
Page Count: 224
F/NF Non Fiction
Genre Lifestyle/nutrition

Rating: 8/10

Summary:
In this book, Melisser Elliott sums up everything a new vegan needs to know to succeed in this lifestyle. She explains multiple reasons why people go vegan and why doing so is good for animals, the environment, and people. She also provides recipes, blogs, websites, and other information to help make the transition easier.

Opinion:
I’ve done a lot of research into veganism in the past month, and I still found this book interesting. I already knew most of what was in this book, but it was nice having it all in one spot. I particularly enjoyed all the information on why going vegan is good for animals. I already know most of it, but this book definitely helped explain some things that I hadn’t learned yet – like why vegans don’t eat honey and why wearing wool is cruel, even if the animals aren’t killed. I also found the “That isn’t vegan?” section really useful. She also includes profiles on many bloggers and owners of vegan companies. Some of the links no longer worked, but many of them did, and they were interesting to look at.The most useful part, at least for me, was the part where she included a list of common questions/taunts that vegans face, along with proper comebacks for them. I’ll definitely have to commit most of those to memory. 🙂

I wouldn’t recommend this book for anyone who has been a vegan for a serious amount of time. I bought the Kindle version for 99 cents, and I feel that I got my money’s worth, but I would have been upset had I spent $10 on the paperback copy. There are relatively few recipes in this book, and the only “beauty secrets” in there are the lists of cruelty-free companies, which you could get from PETA.

Overall, I think this was a good book, and I think it was well worth the dollar I spent on it. If you’re new to veganism or simply curious about the lifestyle and why people choose to follow it, I highly recommend it. However, if you’ve been a vegan for a while and already know where to get cruelty-free products and know about the horrible things people do to animals, you probably don’t need this book.

Posted on May 8, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just to let you know, I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award, for the great work you do blogging!

Leave a Reply

