The best laid plans…

My original goal for this month was to finish the fan fiction piece I started last November. There’s a “Big Bang” fest in the fall that I was going to participate in, but I can’t bring myself to finish the story. I finally had an outline that I was satisfied with, and I hit 25k (the minimum to participate) in chapter 10 out of 30. I just couldn’t write it.

I used to write a lot of fan fiction, and it was a lot of fun. I could borrow existing characters and create new stories for them. Most of what I wrote was crap, but there are still several stories I’m proud of, stories that I would read if I ever wanted to read fan fiction again. And while I learned a decent amount from writing fan fiction, and I can never be sorry that I used to write it – especially since I found out about NaNoWriMo through fan fiction – I no longer feel like it’s for me.

I don’t think I’ve written a single piece of Harry Potter fan fiction since the last book came out in 2007. The only fan fiction I’ve written since then has been a few drabbles for an Aaron Sorkin livejournal group I used to be in. I used to spend most of my time thinking about ideas for fan fiction pieces to write, but now I can’t do it anymore. I no longer really care about the characters like I used to. It feels sort of like a waste of time now. I guess it’s good that I’m now focusing more on my own ideas, but part of me is still sad that I’m closing that part of my life.

Onto the good news, though:

I’ve written 2700 words so far today, and I’m nowhere near stopping for the day. I was going to save the novelization of Degeneration for the June session of Camp NaNo, but I can’t afford to waste another eleven days simply planning, especially when there’s not really much left to plan. I have the 129-page screenplay. I have my character descriptions. I have my screenplay outline with notes on what to fix in the novel. I don’t really need much of anything else. Just motivation.

I would love to be able to write this entire novel before Camp starts, but I highly doubt that’s going to happen. Most of my novels seem to be at least 100k when finished, which means that I would have to write at least 9k a day every day for the rest of the month in order to finish this novel. Even though I have the plot down already and can include large sections of the screenplay in the novel, I still think that would be pushing it.

I’m currently just trying to reach 100,000 words written this month, which would bring my 2012 total word count up to 250,000. I need to write 5,900 words/day to do that, which is more manageable than 9k but still not great. I still think I can do it, though, as long as I push myself and stop spending all day looking up new recipes to try.

Degeneration is now up to a little over 3,600 words, and I’m on chapter 2. I’m pleased with what I have so far. I know it’s not perfect (in fact, the 500-word prologue is almost definitely going to be deleted in the first round of edits), but I’m overall pleased with this. I went back and forth between first person and third limited, but I finally decided to write this in first person. It’s not my usual choice – especially when I relate so much to the main character – but I think it was the right choice. It just worked with this story.

Looks like I’m going to be a rebel for the start of Camp NaNo this year.

Posted on May 21, 2012, in CampNaNo, Degeneration, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I guess this means we’re doing Camp NaNo together, though I’m not starting until June 1st, as I have enough editing to do to keep me mostly out of trouble until then (probably). What’s your name on the NaNo website? I thought I’d add you to my list, if you don’t mind. πŸ™‚

    Sounds like you’re on your way with this story. Does it have any kind of title, working or other?

    • Ooh, that’s a good idea! I’m quixotic_hope on the NaNo sites. Not sure why I never thought to look for you on there. Haha. And I probably should be editing rather than writing, but I won’t complain as long as I’m making some sort of progress on something. πŸ˜€

      This one’s called “Degeneration.” It’s about a family that’s falling apart. I’ve been working on some form of it since 2008, and this is the first time I’ve actually liked what I’ve come up with. Since I’m basically just following the screenplay version at this point, I might actually be able to finish before Camp starts, which could be exciting.

      • Buddy added. And it’s always nice when an idea comes together, though I think we often need to remember that we’re probably our worst critics. I got reminded of that today with some feedback on a short story that was far better than I had expected. πŸ™‚

  2. Whoa, you’ve written a lot of words this year! I’m doing Camp NaNo too, and I can’t wait to start. My June novel is also about a family falling apart, though the cause for my story is divorce. Good luck! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I thought about adding divorce to my story, but then I realized that I was inflicting enough pain on my MC that I would let her immediate family stay whole. πŸ˜€ Good luck with your story, too!

Leave a Reply

