Book 17: Death Masks by Jim Butcher

I’m a bit behind in my 52 books in 52 weeks challenge, but I did more reading than writing during my vacation, so maybe I can at least catch up on one of my goals this year. I think I’m about 5 books behind right now.

Title: Death Masks (Dresden Files #5)
Author: Jim Butcher
Page Count: 374
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Urban fantasy

Rating: 9/10

Summary:
Life is never simple for Chicago’s only professional wizard. Harry Dresden has professional hit men trying to shoot him, a missing Shroud of Turin to find, a headless body to identify, and evil demons trying to kill him. Oh, and a duel with a Red Court vampire, who threatens to kill everyone Harry loves if he doesn’t agree to fight him. What could possibly go wrong?

Opinion:
I really enjoy this series for several reasons. For one, I love the narrating style. Harry Dresden is funny and a smart-ass, which isn’t always the smartest move when evil creatures are trying to kill you, but it sure does make for an amusing read. I laughed out loud multiple times while reading this book. For another, I’m always surprised by what happens next. There are some mystery books (like the previously reviewed Coffeehouse Mysteries books) that are interesting but incredibly obvious. This one wasn’t. Up until the end, I was surprised.

For another, Jim Butcher never makes his life easy. As a writer, I find him fascinating and a great example to live by. If something can go wrong for Harry, it will, which makes Butcher’s life more difficult because he has to get Harry out of all that trouble. I couldn’t do it. He doesn’t just give Harry a missing Shroud that he must find before demons can get to it, nor does he just make him have to fight a duel to the death. He makes him have to worry about both at once. Oh, and his police detective friend can’t officially help him. Oh, and his ex-girlfriend is back in town and can kill him if she gets too excited. Oh, and there’s a crime boss who’s after the same thing Harry is. There are multiple threads weaving together in this book, which makes it fascinating and very difficult to predict. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve never read a Dresden Files book and I don’t recall ever reading Jim Butcher, but your summary has me very intrigued! Goodreads (which from the link in your sidebar, looks like you don’t use it very often..) says the MC is a wizard for hire, and that has my attention. Nice to know you gave the 5th book a 9/10. Added on goodreads, thanks for the review!

    • I sort of gave up on Goodreads when the sidebar thing stopped updating. I had added like 8 books and it still said 4, and I didn’t want to bother with it so I just gave up. But I’m glad it got you interested! I’m really enjoying the series. I hope you enjoy it when you read it! πŸ™‚

      • Ah, I’m kinda a Goodreads addict I think. Well, that and downloading books for my kindle from Amazon. It gets a bit ridiculous, but at least I always have lots of options for stuff to read, and books on my to-read list. πŸ™‚

        Anyway, I added the first book in this series to my Goodreads list which is linked to Facebook, so my mom commented on a post GR put on FB for me and said she’s read most of the series and loved it. Plus, my post reminded her that she needs to read more in this series.

Leave a Reply

