Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. I heard about it through read wear write, and it seemed like fun so I’ve decided to join in.

This week, participants get to pick a topic from a list of all their previous topics. I’ve decided to go with –

The Top 10 Books Everyone Has Read But Me

1. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
My boyfriend’s mother gave me this book months ago to read, but I have yet to do it. Part of me wants to just to see what everyone’s excited about, and another part of me is intrigued since it started out as a Nano novel, but I just can’t seem to read it. There are certain subjects that just don’t interest me, and circuses are one of them. It’s like most books about war and westerns and vampires. Sure, there are bound to be exceptions (for instance, there are vampires in the Dresden Files, yet I love those books, or All Quiet on the Western Front and Catch-22, both of which I really enjoyed), but for the most part I have this mental block up about them. I have to be forced to read them in order to give them a chance, and since no one is making me read this one, I just can’t seem to do it.

2. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
This is another book that’s been turned into a movie and gotten a lot of attention. I’m actually interested in this one, but I haven’t read it yet, nor have I seen the movie. I just haven’t gotten around to it, and it seems like I’m missing something major.

3. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
I’ve heard great things about this series, as well. I was in the room while my mom started the movie, but I wasn’t paying attention in the beginning and just ended up confused, so I haven’t seen the movie, either. I have a feeling I’ll attempt to read this one eventually, but I’ll probably wait a bit.

4. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
I feel like a bad English major for admitting this, but I haven’t read this book. It was never required. I keep meaning to give it a shot, but I have so many other books that I want to read more, so this one isn’t even close to the top of my list.

5. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Another book that surprises me that I’ve never read. We read a short story by Fitzgerald in tenth grade, and I remember not liking it. As such, I’ve never been interested in reading this one.

6. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
This is another book that I can’t believe I haven’t read. I think I was in the only ninth grade class that didn’t read this one. I read Animal Farm and 1984 and Brave New World, but we didn’t read this one. I keep meaning to read this one on my own, but it hasn’t neared the top of my list yet.

7. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I watched the movie with my friend last summer, and I wasn’t all that impressed. It seemed like an interesting idea, and one of my college roommates highly recommends this series, but I haven’t tried yet. I’m going to try not to pre-judge the book based on the movie (which I watched when I was tired, so my opinion on that can’t really be trusted either). Since I’m 5 books behind my 52 books in 52 weeks challenge and these books are really short, I have a feeling I might be reading them this summer.

8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
I’m pretty sure I attempted to read these once, but I never made it past a few pages. I just didn’t care. I got put into a gifted class in fifth grade that was in the middle of reading one of these books (The Prince, maybe? Is that a book in the series?), but I don’t recall paying any attention to it. I think I was excused from reading it since I came in so late to it and the teacher knew I wouldn’t have any idea what was going on. I also think I tried reading The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe on my own once, but I didn’t get very far in that one, either. I have no intention of trying again.

9. Anything by Herman Melville
I was looking up a list of books that all English majors are supposed to have read, and I realized I haven’t read anything by Herman Melville. I’ve heard of his works, obviously, but I’ve never read any of them. I think he was taught the year I skipped over to be in AP classes. I probably missed him the same year I missed Fahrenheit 451. Which brings us to the last number…

10. Anything by Ernest Hemingway
Most people I know either love or hate Hemingway, and I’m a bit sad that I don’t have an opinion. I’ve heard of so many of his books, but I haven’t read any of them. I’ll probably end up reading something of his at some point, just so I can feel less like an English failure, but it probably won’t be any time soon.

Then again, if I actually go back to school to become an English teacher (which I’m thinking of doing), perhaps I’ll have to cross several of these off my list.

Posted on June 5, 2012, in TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like your list! I’ve only read 3/10 so I’m with you on most of these. The Great Gatsby, however, is one of my favorite books. 🙂

    And Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was not worth my time. It was violent and crude, and not at all what I like to read for fun. I’m not really a crime / violence type of person though, and I know (especially with the abundance of shows like CSI) that a lot of people are.

    Glad I inspired you to join Top Ten Tuesday–it’s a lot of fun! & Thanks for linking me in your post. 🙂

    • No problem! Thanks for inspiring me to join! 🙂

      And it’s good to know I’m not alone with not having read most of these. Maybe I’ll eventually give The Great Gatsby a try. My boyfriend apparently just downloaded The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, so I guess I’ll let the movie tell me whether or not I want to read the book. I don’t like a lot of violence, though I sometimes like crime-solving stuff. I guess it depends on the characters.

      • Yes, it does depend on the characters. And yeah, there are a lot of people who are big fans of Lisbeth (the main character in Dragon Tattoo) and um, that other guy who’s kinda a main character, whatever his name is. The story and the characters just didn’t appeal to me personally. Who knows though, maybe you’ll love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

