Book 19: Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen

Title: Keeping the Moon
Author: Sarah Dessen
Page Count: 228
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult

Rating: 9/10

Summary:
When fifteen-year-old Colie Sparks is sent to her aunt’s house for the summer, she expects another long summer alone. What she finds instead are three friends who show her what she’s been missing her whole life and help her become the person she’s always been able to be.

Opinion:
I first read this book last year. I kept hearing great things about Sarah Dessen, and this book sounded the most interesting of the ones that I saw on the shelf. I liked it the first time, but I didn’t really think it was that great.

This time, I read it mostly because I’m trying to write a YA book and wanted to read a book for research. I decided on this one because it wasn’t very long and because I had remembered thinking it was a decent book overall. I actually liked it a lot more this time, and I’m not really sure why. I guess I just picked up on some more things now that I was reading it more carefully. I really enjoyed the characters and watching how they interacted with each other.

The only part I didn’t really like was Colie’s relationship with Norman. I don’t want to give too much away, but there was something off about it. That relationship spoiled the book for me the first time, and it definitely took away from it the second time. Still, I didn’t mind it quite as much the second time, and I still really enjoyed the book.

Posted on June 10, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A. Ovidius Ensis

    You should have mentioned that the cover is a touch creepy 🙂

Leave a Reply

