Camp NaNo Day 10

The second weekend of Camp NaNo ended pretty well. I wrote 5,602 words today, bringing my camp total up to 17,579. I’m caught back up to where I’m supposed to be, which I was a bit worried about. I’m on chapter 9 of my novel, and it’s just 24,794 words long. I’m a bit worried that the novel’s going to be too short (since I only have 7.5 chapters left to write), but I’m trying not to let myself get too worked up over it. After all, I always worry that I’ll run out of plot, and yet my stories always ramble on and on. Besides, these are the plot-intense chapters coming up. I’m just going to write this novel and worry about the length later.

Up until this point, I’ve been basically following my screenplay. I add transitions between scenes and show what my main character is thinking, but for the most part what happened in the script shows up in the novel. Today I finally got away from that. I added a scene that wasn’t in the screenplay, and it was a lot of fun to write. I introduced a character a day earlier than I did last time (which doesn’t sound like much but considering 75% of my novel takes place over 2 days, that’s kind of a big jump), and I managed to include a line of dialogue that I really like but wasn’t sure where it would fit.

I also feel a lot better about my novel than I did a few days ago. I talked to my boyfriend and managed to fix a problem I was having, and I finished Keeping the Moon (review here), which helped me understand more about writing young adult fiction. That book actually helped me immensely because it showed me that climaxes don’t have to be huge battle scenes where someone’s probably going to die. Sometimes a climax just has to be standing up tall when someone tries to tear you down and telling them that you’re not going to take it anymore. I think I needed to be reminded of that.

In semi-related news, my mother went to the library yesterday and picked me up a copy of Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, and I promised myself that if I caught back up today I would get to make some. Midnight is a bit later than I was hoping to get started, but I really want cookies and haven’t gone to bed before 2 am in a long time, so I’m not going to let that stop me. We’re just about to take the first batch of peanut butter oatmeal cookies out of the oven. I don’t know how they taste yet, but they smell delicious. Of course, peanut butter usually smells delicious. 🙂

Posted on June 11, 2012, in CampNaNo, Degeneration, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think that’s one of the important things with first drafts, to let them just be what they’ll be without worrying about length or perfection or any of that. Editing and revising is when you worry about all that other stuff, but during the first draft, just get it down, get it on the screen/page/whatever you write on.

Leave a Reply

