Book 21: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Title: The Truth About Forever
Author: Sarah Dessen
Page Count: 400
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young Adult

Rating: 9/10

Summary:
Ever since her father died, Macy has made it her goal to be as perfect as possible. She has a genius boyfriend. She spends all her time studying. She has taken over her boyfriend’s job at the information desk at the library while he’s away at Brain Camp. Her life is as perfect as it can be. So why isn’t she happy? It’s not until she joins Wish Catering that she finally starts to laugh again. Spending most of her time with the handsome, artistic Wes certainly doesn’t hurt, either. What is it about him that makes her open up for the first time since her father did?

Opinion:
I stayed up until four in the morning finishing this book, both because I couldn’t sleep and because I really wanted to see how this ended. Macy was very frustrating to read about at times. Her boyfriend is absolutely abysmal, and I just want to take her and smack her whenever she talks about him and how perfect he is. I also hated her mother, who refused to listen to anything her daughters said. I understand that she was grieving and that that undoubtedly affected her, but I still wanted to smack her.

Overall, though, I really enjoyed the book. It’s always fun to see other people get nervous talking to guys they like, and the book gave me a lot to think about, both about life and about my writing style. I would definitely recommend this book to others. Sarah Dessen is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.

On a side note, it was amusing to see that she referenced the town of Colby and the Last Chance diner in this book, which was the setting of Keeping the Moon. It was amusing.

Posted on June 16, 2012, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I really enjoy Sarah Dessen and I’ve been meaning to read this book for a while now. I’m a bit wary now since Macy does seem frustrating, but I guess if I’ve gotten through books with annoying protagonists before I can do it again. 🙂 Nice review! What’s your favorite Dessen book so far?

    • She’s definitely frustrating at times, but it’s still worth the read. 🙂

      It’s really hard to pick a favorite! I guess it’s “Just Listen” because I enjoyed the entire novel so much, beginning, middle, and end. I could relate to the character even though I haven’t been through what she’s been through. “Keeping the Moon” is a very close second, though. I like the idea behind that book more, but I don’t like the ending as much.

      What’s your favorite?

      • Oh, I really liked both of those as well! Though my favorite thus far would have to be Lock and Key. I love the main character, Ruby, and all the other characters in it are really great too. You should read it when you get a chance! 🙂

      • It’s funny you say that, actually because that’s the book that I’m currently reading. 🙂 I’m on chapter 4 right now.

Leave a Reply

