Top Ten Tuesday: My Summer TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks’ topic is the Top 10 Books on My Summer TBR List.

Plenty of people have books on their shelves that they’ve meant to read but haven’t yet. I have an entire shelf dedicated to those books. Well, okay, to be fair the books are spread out along the top of one of my three book shelves and on the top shelf of that bookshelf, in front of the rest of the books on that shelf. I have so many books on my to-read shelf right now that this is undoubtedly the easiest list I’ve made so far.

I find it interesting that 9 of the 10 books here are non-fiction. First, I didn’t read these books because I was trying to work and keep up the 52 books in 52 weeks thing, and it takes me longer to read non-fiction because I take notes and then color-code those notes. Then, I realized that a good number of these books I couldn’t read at work because the titles alone would probably get me fired (I take school pictures in the Bible Belt; remember that as you read my list, and you’ll understand). Now, I’m not reading them because I want to read books that will help me with my writing. Perhaps I should try to read both at one time, because I hate seeing all these books on my shelf.

Here are the ten I most want to read, in no particular order (all links lead to GoodReads):

1. Erotic Innocence by James R. Kincaid
We read an excerpt of this book in my (Mis)conceptions of Childhood class in college. Since then, I’ve wanted to read the whole book, as it brought up a lot of interesting points that I had never thought about before, but the book was rather expensive (more than my usual $4-with-shipping books, anyway), so I didn’t get it. My boyfriend finally bought it for me for Christmas last year, and I’m sad to say that I still haven’t gotten around to reading it.

2. The Purity Myth: How America’s Obsession with Virginity is Hurting Young Women by Jessica Valenti
I was searching through Amazon for books on this topic, and I came across this one. It sounded like the sort of book that I would want to read, and it was relatively cheap at the time, so I bought it. It hasn’t moved from my shelf since then.

3. The Silent Takeover: Global Capitalism and the Death of Democracy by Noreena Hertz
I found this book in a used bookstore in Athens last year. I haven’t really read any political books since high school – at least political books that weren’t required for a class and weren’t written by comedians – so I bought this one. I was hoping that doing so would get me into reading more non-fiction books. Clearly, that hasn’t happened yet, but when it does, this book will be high up on my to-read list.

4. Harmful to Minors: The Perils of Protecting Children from Sex by Judith Levine
Of all the books on this list, this is the one that I’ve had for the longest. I saw this author at a campus event my freshman year of college. She was talking about America’s ridiculous sexual standards and how our fear of telling children the truth about sex actually causes more harm than good. She was very smart and well-spoken, and I went out and bought her book soon after. I got about halfway through and then stopped because finals got in the way, and somehow I never got around to finishing it.

5. The Homework Myth: Why Our Kids Get Too Much of a Bad Thing by Alfie Kohn
My boyfriend had to get this book for one of his classes. He and I have always had very different views of homework (I looked at is as an easy A, and he looked at it as a waste of time), so this book intrigued me. Since I recently applied to grad school to teach, I’m even more curious about this book. I should try to read this before school starts in the fall – assuming that I get in, of course.

6. Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages by Guy Deutscher
I saw this book linked in a blog once upon a time, and it sounded interesting. I haven’t taken any linguistics classes, but I was told by one of my college advisors that I would have liked it, especially since I loved my English classes that focuses on taking apart sentences and reading meaning into them. This book immediately caught my interest, but I decided to save it for a time when I had more time available to read. And then I found other books to read instead.

7. Pink Brain, Blue Brain: How Small Differences Grow into Troublesome Gaps – and What We Can Do About It by Lise Eliot, Ph.D
My boyfriend was told about this book in one of his classes, and he told me about it since I’m always complaining about stereotypes. Again, I really want to read this book, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet because it seems like a book that requires close attention, and I’ve been more in the mood to read fiction lately.

8. Everything You Know About God is Wrong by Russ Kick
My mom felt bad that she bought me a book for Christmas that I already had, so she bought me this book because I’m always looking for a good anti-religion book. This book is huge (not long , just literally too big to fit in my work bag), and it’s not really the sort of book I want to read at work, so I decided to wait until the summer to read it.

9. God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything by Christopher Hitchens
For the same reasons as the book above, I decided not to read this one at work. I actually think this was one of the last books I bought at Borders before it closed. I’m not really sure why I haven’t read this one yet.

10. The White Road by Lynn Flewelling
This is the only fiction book on the list. I’ve owned it practically since it came out, which must have been a while ago since the sixth book in the Nightrunner series is either out or will be out soon, and there’s a book of short stories based in this universe out. I read the first three books in this series when I was in high school, and I really enjoyed them. I was thrilled when I realized there was a fourth one, and I read that one quickly. Then I read Lynn Flewelling’s other book series, The Tamir Trilogy, and I sort of moved on from this series. I was excited when the fifth one came out, but I no longer remembered what had happened in the fourth book, aside from a few basic plot points. I decided to reread the rest of the books in the series before reading this one. I haven’t done that, either. I should really get on that, because I do really enjoy these characters, and it’s been far too long since I’ve read about them.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a great list! Nonfiction took up most of the space on my Top Ten this week too. Have a fantastic summer. Good luck getting into grad school. I wish you the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

