Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me Of Myself Or Someone I Know In Real Life

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks’ topic is Top 10 Characters Who Remind Me of Myself or Someone I know in Real Life.

1. Lee Fiora from Prep
I have never met a character whom I could relate to more than Lee Fiora. She’s awkward. She doesn’t have many friends. She’s constantly worried about making a fool of herself. She is me if I had talked my parents into sending me to prep school. I reviewed this book previously and went into more detail about why she reminded me of myself there. Most people seemed to hate this book and this character, but I loved it.

2. Jessica Darling – from Sloppy Firsts, Second Helpings, etc.
Jessica and I are different in many ways – she’s extremely skinny and very athletic, and she’s sort of friends with the popular people; I’m fat and hate exercising and had very few friends in high school – but we’re also really similar. We’re both smart and sarcastic. We dislike the same type of people. She doesn’t feel like she really belongs with the people around her. I think that’s part of why I liked reading the series so much – I could relate so well to her.

3. Colie Sparks from Keeping the Mooon
Colie has always been the fat girl, and she’s never really fit in anywhere. She’s not great at talking to people, and she feels awkward a lot. Aside from the fact that I’m still fat, she and I are a lot alike. It was nice to see her start to come out of her shell. It gave me hope for myself.

4. Caitlin O’Koren from Dreamland
Caitlin reminds me a bit of myself and my sister, a fact which sort of worries me considering what happens to her in the novel. Caitlin constantly feels overshadowed by her older sister, who was perfect. I worry that that’s how my sister felt through high school. I was a straight-A student, and every one of her teachers who had me first looked forward to having another Green sister in the class and then was disappointed when she didn’t live up to my standards. I never meant to make her feel bad for it, but I’m afraid that she did. But Caitlin also reminds me of me because she puts up with things that she shouldn’t and because she doesn’t quite know what she wants to do with herself. She’s way more popular than I ever was – and I would never be a cheerleader – but I still found her oddly relatable.

5. Jane Eyre from Jane Eyre
I liked this book so much more than Pride and Prejudice or Wuthering Heights because I could relate so well to Jane. Neither of us is pretty or popular or particularly outspoken, and it was nice to see her fall in love and find someone to love her back. As an awkward high school junior who had never had a boyfriend, I found her inspiring.

6. Briony Tallis from Atonement
Briony has been trying to write a story about what happened in her past, the night everything changed, but she can’t do it because she can’t face the truth. Or, rather, she doesn’t want to admit the truth. I no longer remember the exact words of the scene, but I remember there was a scene where I felt like I was Briony. She had gotten feedback from a story she wrote, and she had finally realized that there was no depth to what she wrote, that it didn’t feel real because she was afraid to be that honest and face what happened. I’ve been having the same problem with Degeneration that Briony had then. Fortunately, I – like she – eventually got over that.

7. Macy Queen from The Truth About Froever
Fortunately, I haven’t had to deal with the death of a family member, but I can relate to Macy’s desire to be as close to perfect as possible. I was also reminded of a past relationship I used to have with a guy who would ask me random questions that helped me get to know him. I was as crazy about him as Macy was about Wes, except that we had a completely different outcome in real life. Still, I knew how she felt to be stuck in a life that she didn’t really like and to finally find someone who made her feel happy and honest for the first time in a long time.

8. Annabel Greene from Just Listen
Annabel reminds me a lot of my sister. I can relate to her at times, too, but for the most part she reminds me of my sister, who has so many friends that aren’t really there for her when she needs them, and who has been through more than I think my parents or I realize but doesn’t want to tell anyone. Most of what I know about her I only know because of what she told me when she was drunk, or that I overheard, and it scares me, especially since I know how much she liked this book. It makes me wonder what else she’s hiding.

9. Tibby from The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
Tibby likes to act tough, like she hates the world, but she actually has a very good heart that she keeps hidden. She’s also frequently wrong about people at first, which is something else that she and I have in common. Throughout the series, I found that I could relate to each of the main characters at one point or the other, but Tibby was the one that I consistently related to the most.

10. Vin from Mistborn
I struggled for a bit with this last one before I settled on Vin. She and I are very different in a lot of ways, but there’s one thing that we have in common: we’re both afraid of trusting people, but we both also want to believe that there are some people who are worthy of that trust. She has way worst trust issues than I do, but I found myself relating to her a lot, especially in the beginning of the book when she hadn’t started coming out of her shell yet.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

