Book 24: Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Title: Along for the Ride
Author: Sarah Dessen
Page Count: 416
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young adult

Rating: 8/10

Summary:
On a whim, 17-year-old Auden decides to spend the summer before college with her father and his new wife and her newborn half-sister. She spends her life with a fellow insomniac and starts to learn what it’s like to have a social life.

Opinion:
As a whole, I really enjoyed this book. I like that we returned to Colby and met up with a few familiar faces from two of Dessen’s previous works. I liked that Auden was so easy for me to relate to – she’s smart but has no idea how to connect with other people and prefers to keep to herself, at least at first. I like that there’s more to the characters than meets the eye.

Some of the characters, though, were a bit hard to stomach. Or, rather, I hated Auden’s father and Auden by extension. I was rooting for a divorce, and it bothered me that Auden didn’t agree with me. I can understand wanting more from your parents, but I’m of the opinion that having no father is better than having a father who will raise you to feel ashamed of yourself. But maybe that’s just me. I also hated that Jason Talbot made a comeback. I hated him in The Truth About Forever, and I hate him now, too.

Like I said, I enjoyed most of this book. There was a bit with Auden and a certain male character in the beginning of the book that I didn’t quite understand and didn’t feel was addressed properly, but otherwise I liked the novel. I don’t think I’ve ever identified this much with a character in a Sarah Dessen novel, especially one with such a different family history than mine. I just feel like part of the story was missing. It was really good overall, but I would have liked to see a few more scenes shown rather than summarized.

Posted on July 2, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

