Book 26: This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

Title: This Lullaby
Author: Sarah Dessen
Page Count: 345
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young adult

Rating: 8.5/10

Summary:
Remy knows that love doesn’t last. After all, her mother is on marriage number four, and love hasn’t seemed to do her any favors. So she keeps guys at a distance, dating them until their flaws start to show, and then she moves on. She has it down to a science. So why is she finding it so hard to break up with Dexter, whose faults have been apparent from the very beginning?

Opinion:
I’m always hesitant to start a book with a main character so unlike myself, so when I saw the back cover of this one and saw that it was about a high school girl who dated somewhere around fifty guys in high school and never cared about any of them, I wasn’t sure I’d like it. To be honest, if I hadn’t been on a quest to read all of Sarah Dessen’s books, I probably wouldn’t have picked this one up.

I’m very glad I did, though. Despite our differences, I found Remy and her friends to be quite realistic. There’s no stilted or awkward dialogue, except for the moments where it’s supposed to be awkward. There wasn’t a lot of wasted detail, which I appreciated. I also enjoyed the fact that Remy wasn’t the only character who grew as the novel continued. I found myself drawn to each of the different characters. Her friends were funny and entertaining, and the other members of the band added color and drama. Her family also kept things interesting and helped Remy understand more about love. There were no wasted characters in this novel, which I appreciated.

Posted on July 7, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

