Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a freebie, so I have chosen this one: Top Ten Favorite Authors.

I was going to try to write these in order, but it’s so hard to pick between them all. These are authors I’ve read at least three novels by, and who I would recommend in a heartbeat. I’ve included the title of at least one of the books I loved and a bit of information about each in case anyone’s looking for suggestions. 🙂

1. JK Rowling The Harry Potter series
I’m not sure I really need to say much about this one. There are flaws with the books that I’m noticing now that I’m older, but I still love this series. I grew up with these books, and they’ve inspired me so much.

2. Jodi Picoult Perfect Match, Salem Falls, Nineteen Minutes, etc
Most people know of Jodi Picoult because of My Sister’s Keeper, but she has a whole slew of other novels. I’ve listed some of my favorites. I like her because she takes interesting and relevant topics and shows you how they apply to real people. There are multiple sides to each story, and she handles that with such compassion and care. I guess these are considered pretty mainstream now, though I would still put them in the literary fiction category since they deal mostly with characters – although you could also argue that there’s a bit of mystery/suspense in them, as well. I haven’t read all of her books, but I’ve probably read at least half, and so far there’s only been one that I didn’t like (Harvesting the Heart).

3. Sarah Dessen The Truth About Forever, What Happened to Goodbye, Just Listen, etc
Anyone who’s been reading my book reviews shouldn’t be surprised to see Sarah Dessen on this list. She rights young adult novels, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed each one of them. Some are better than others, obviously, but there isn’t a single one that I would tell someone not to read. There’s only one book of hers that I haven’t read yet (Someone Like You), and as soon as it comes in at the library, I’ll be reading that one, too. Most of her books deal with romance, but there’s only one where that romance feels a bit off (Keeping the Moon, where it was tacked on at the end and didn’t quite fit).

4. Lynn Flewelling The Nightrunner series, The Tamir trilogy
These are two fantasy series that I really enjoy. They’re in the same universe but set a long time apart, so you can read them in any order, even though the events of the Tamir trilogy occur first. I’m sad to say that I’ve fallen a bit behind in the Nightrunner series, but I’ve still really enjoyed the first four books in the series.

5. Amy Tan The Joy Luck Club, The Bonesetter’s Daughter, etc.
I’ve read four of her books now, and I’ve loved each of them. She writes mother/daughter relationships so well. I would definitely recommend her to anyone who likes literary fiction with a concentration in Asian-Americans.

6. Oscar Wilde The Picture of Dorian Gray, The Importance of Being Ernest, etc.
I’ve read his novel and multiple plays, and I really enjoy them. I don’t remember the plots of them so much as the witty lines spread throughout them, but I read them mainly for those amusing quotes, so I don’t really mind. They’re funny and insightful, and I highly recommend him.

7. Jim Butcher The Dresden Files
Urban fantasy at its best. Harry Dresden makes a great narrator, and I’m really enjoying this series. It’s a long series, but the books themselves are fairly short (200-300 pages generally), and you could probably read them out of order without being too confused – although they’d be better in order. I don’t generally like reading about magical/mythical creatures, but I find this series funny and suspenseful , and an all-around great read.

8. Philip Pullman His Dark Materials trilogy
I read this series in college, right before The Golden Compass film came out. The movie was incredibly disappointing, but I really enjoyed this series. I plan on rereading them after I finish my TBR pile, as I’m sure there are parts that I missed or am just not remembering all that well. It’s rare that I find a book that talks about religion in a way that makes me want to keep reading, so I’m really glad that I found this book.

9. Virginia Woolf To the Lighthouse, Mrs. Dalloway
All right, I’ve actually only read two books by her, but I’ve loved both of them, and I’m hoping to read the rest of her books as soon as possible, so I say it counts. This is the prime example of literary fiction, so if you only like fast-moving plots, this definitely isn’t the author for you. To the Lighthouse follows mostly three characters around, and the first and last part cover like a day, if I’m remembering correctly. In any case, there is very little traditional plot, but the characters are interesting, and I sometimes enjoy reading about the day to day lives of people.

10. Megan McCafferty The Jessica Darling series
I read a lot of books in high school because other people suggested them, but this was one of the few that I really liked. A moody girl in high school with few friends was someone that I could relate to. I wouldn’t put her at the top of my YA favorites list, but she’s definitely high up on there.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I can’t believe I haven’t read any books by these authors. Definitely have to remedy that 🙂

  2. I’ve heard so many great things about Sarah Dessen. I will have to read something by her very soon.

  3. I love this list of authors. JK Rowling, Sarah Dessen (The Truth About Forever, This Lullaby, and Just Listen are my favorites), and Megan McCafferty are some of my favorite contemporary writers, and I really loved Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Grey. I’ll definitely have to check out some of these other authors and books!

    • I’m glad to hear that you like those authors! The Truth About Forever and Just Listen are definitely high up on my list of favorite Dessen novels! I hope you do check out some of these authors. I think they’re great…obviously. 😀

Leave a Reply

