Book 29: So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti

Title: So Much Closer
Author: Susane Colasanti
Page Count: 241
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Contemporary young adult

Rating: 8/10

Summary:
Brooke has been in love with Scott for two years, even though they’ve barely spoken. When she learns that he’s moving to New York City for their last year of high school, she realizes she has to follow him. She moves in with the father she hasn’t spoken to in six years with the hopes that she’ll find Scott, confess her feelings, and the two of them will live happily ever after. But what happens when her dreams come true and it turns out that that dream isn’t so wonderful after all?

Opinion:
Let me start by saying that I hate the premise of this book. I’m not sure how I missed what it was about since the inside cover states that she follows the guy to a different state when she’s still in high school, but somehow I missed that part. I hate the idea of a girl dropping everything for a guy she barely even knows, and had I realized that that’s what this was at first, I probably wouldn’t have read it.

I’m quite glad that I didn’t know.

Yes, I still hate the premise of this novel, and I cringed a little bit every time the phrase “The Knowing” was mentioned, but I still really enjoyed the book overall. Brooke was sympthetic and interesting, and I eventually came to understand why she did so horribly in school. I still think she was stupid, but she eventually realizes that herself, so I was able to forgive her earlier bad choices. She grew a lot in the novel, so much so that I was able to get past the stupid premise of leaving behind everything you know for a guy you barely know.

I also have to credit Colasanti for making me keep reading. Even as I was telling Brooke what a moron she was, I kept reading. There was just so much that I could relate to. “Sometimes I think that if he knew, he would admit he feels the same way. Other times I think he would laugh in my face so hard I would never get over it.” I mean, who hasn’t felt that same way at least once?

This book wasn’t perfect. The end sort of just fell together, and the fact that she had two other guys loving her from afar was a bit annoying, but I still found this book easy to read and rather enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this book for people who are looking for a quick read.

Posted on July 14, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

