6 chapters down, 33 to go

I’ve spent a decent part of the day editing Tilt Your Head and Smile. I’ve edited the first six chapters, which covers the first two months of the story. Even with the parts that I’ve added and rewritten, I’ve still knocked 2,310 words off the total word count, bringing the new total to a little over 99k. I haven’t made any major changes yet, but I’m not really at the part of the novel that I was having trouble with yet. April still has hope that she’ll be able to find a real job once she starts looking for one. Once the job hunting really starts – that’s when I’ll be making the bigger changes.

Of course, I have to keep reminding myself that it’s not like this is my first draft of this novel. I wrote it for NaNo and completely rewrote it for JanNo, so there probably wouldn’t be as many major changes as there would be if I was editing the first draft. I guess a part of me is just worried that I’m not changing enough. So far, I’ve really enjoyed the novel I’ve written. I should be happy about that fact, but instead I’m worried that I’m missing some huge flaws or something. I’ve made changes, of course. I’ve taken out dozens of paragraphs that don’t work and have rewritten them to make them more interesting and relevant. I’m just worried that I should be doing more.

It doesn’t help that the last time I read through this novel – or at least started to read through it – I made lots of notes about aspects to change but never actually found a place to make those changes. I’m trying to focus on making one change at a time, but I’m still worried. Of course, the last time I read through this, I was reading it on my Nook, which meant that I could only make notes. I couldn’t actually delete scenes that didn’t work. Editing is always easier for me when I have a hard copy I can mark up. I’m probably just worried about editing for nothing.

Writing the first draft is easy. I can just ramble and not have to worry that everything I’m writing makes sense because I can just say, “Oh, I’ll fix it when I edit.” Well, now it’s time to fix it, and I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. I add a paragraph to include a fact that I didn’t think I added, and then I turn the page and realize that I had already written that there. I keep confusing which draft I wrote what in, and I’m torn between wanting to reread the whole thing first and then trying to edit the rest of it and wanting to just keep going as I’m going.

I’ll probably keep editing as I read, if only because I don’t need another excuse to put off editing. πŸ™‚

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Editing, Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh my, I totally hear you about being worried when you like what you’ve written. I’m looking at a few things and thinking, “Yeah, that’s in a good place, turned out well. Oh god, it must suck!” If I figure out how to deal with that, I’ll let you know. If you have one, please tell me? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

