Book 32: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Page Count: 387
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young adult science fiction

Rating: 10/10

Summary:
A cyborg . A plague that kills everyone who contracts it. An evil moon queen. A charming prince. A missing princess. A planet on the brink of war. You think you know the story of Cinderella, but this novel takes the story so much further.

Opinion:
I wasn’t entirely sure what to make of this novel when I first heard about it. I’ve never been drawn to stories of cyborgs, but something about this novel intrigued me. I’m so glad I read it. There’s not a single thing I can find to complain about. Cinder, a sixteen-year-old cyborg with no memory of life before she had her surgery, lives with a stepmother who hates her. She’s a very believable character, and you can’t help but feel for her when things don’t work out her way. Prince Kai was cute and amusing, though believable, given everything that he’s had to deal with. I liked the romance with these two. They talk and tease each other, and I could understand what each saw in the other. Each of their fears and reactions to certain events seemed realistic, as well, which isn’t always the case. It was nice to read.

I loved the side characters, as well. Iko was adorable. Peony and Pearl had their own distinct personalities, and her stepmother was cruel and despicable, but in completely believable way. She’s horrible, but you can sort of pity her and understand why she does what she does. All of the characters made sense to me. They had different layers, which was nice. I’ve seen many retellings of Cinderella in my life, mostly as a small child, and I’ve never seen one with this much depth to it.

I can’t even really put into words how much I liked this book. I stayed up until almost 3 last night reading it, and even then I only stopped reading because my boyfriend wanted to sleep. I’m sad that I’m finished with it. I think I love the book even more because it started as a NaNo novel – so not only is it a great story, but also it’s inspiring. Apparently each book in this four-book series is based on a different fairy tale. I’m excited to see how the series continues.

Posted on July 25, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this. Glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

