Book 34: Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

Title: Someone Like You
Author: Sarah Dessen
Page Count: 281
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young adult

Rating: 9/10

Summary:
Scarlett has always looked out for Halley. She protects her from the mean kids at school and comforts her whenever she needs it. When Scarlett’s boyfriend is killed in a motorcycle accident, though, their positions are switched. Now Halley has to take care of Scarlett, because that’s what best friends do. But her own life isn’t that simple, either. She has a father who embarrasses her on the radio, a mother who’s trying to control her life, and a boyfriend who keeps pressuring her to have sex. And, to top it all off, Scarlett discovers she’s pregnant. If Halley can barely control her own life, how is she supposed to help Scarlett?

Opinion:
This was the last Dessen book that I read, and I’m sad I didn’t read it sooner. This book feels more serious than the other novels of hers I’ve read. I’m glad to say that this is the first book/movie I’ve seen in a while where a character gets pregnant and at least discusses all of her options. That fact alone bumped it up a star in my book.

Overall, I liked the characters. Halley and her mother have their issues, but they were realistic. I could understand Halley’s reluctance to let her mother control her life, but I could understand why her mother was worried about her. It’s always nice to see a mother/daughter relationship where they fight a lot but obviously still love each other. Dessen does a great job portraying realistic relationships in general. Halley’s relationship with Macon seemed realistic, as well. I liked the sudden shift from complete adoration of this guy she barely knew to happily dating him to feeling pressured to do more and being unsure of herself. I’m also glad that she didn’t glorify teenage pregnancy. I mean, at the end she sort of did a bit, but as a whole she showed how much getting pregnant changes things. I definitely think teenage girls should read this book. It makes its point but doesn’t preach about it.

Posted on July 28, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to
    ask. Does running a well-established website such as yours require a large amount of work?

    I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary every day.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience
    and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips
    for new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    • Hey! Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you. I would hardly call my blog well-established. I’ve been horrible about updating lately, so, no, it doesn’t really take a lot of time. However, the more successful you want your blog to be, the more work you have to put into it. The really successful blogs I’ve seen are updated at least 2-3 times a week.

      I would recommending starting with updating once a week and then seeing if you feel like doing more. I would keep a list of blog posts you mean to write, as that can help you when you know you should update but can’t think of what to talk about.

      Good luck! =)

Leave a Reply

