Short story review: The Enchanted Truth by Kym Petrie

I’m supposed to be writing right now, but I decided to take a break to read e-book I received today from NetGalley. I’ve seen a bunch of other book reviewers get books from this site, and I wanted to check it out and see what it was about. This is the book that I got for review today. I say book, but it’s really more of a short story. Still, the premise intrigued me, so I decided to give it a shot.

Title: The Enchanted Truth
Author: Kym Petrie
Page Count: 40
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Sort of self-help fairy tale

Rating: 5/10

Summary:
A modern-day fairy tale for any woman who’s sick of waiting for her Prince Charming to show up.

Opinion:
I’m not quite sure what to make of this story. The premise is an important one, one that I feel girls and women should read about. There’s so much more to being a woman than finding a guy who likes you, and this books demonstrates that. I’m glad of that, as I don’t really feel that there are enough books out there that focus on that lesson.

That said, I wasn’t extremely impressed with this story. It was cute at times, but there were other times when it just seemed to be trying too hard to be clever and amusing. It also switched between being funny and goofy (almost self-deprecatingly so) to being a self-help book. I was hoping this would read more like a regular fairy tale and less like I was being preached to. I can understand why the author would want to preach this message, as it’s a good one, but I think she could probably have gone about it in a different way. Maybe 40 pages isn’t enough time to really get into the issue, but I would have rather seen her come to the realization on her own, rather than have her Fairy Godmother basically come right out and beat her (and us) over the head with it.

That’s not to say it was horrible. It’s a short read, and it entertained me enough for the ten minutes or so it took me to read it. Plus, it has a good message. It just reads a bit too much like the type of story you’d read in Sunday school (though obviously a very different subject matter).

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

