Top Ten Tuesday: Posts That Give the Best Picture of You

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the Top Ten posts on your blog that give the best picture of you (as a reader and a person).

This was a difficult list to make, as I could make arguments for so many of the entries on this list. I’ve finally settled on ten, though, choosing a mix of posts about reading and writing, as both of those activities are a huge part of who I am as a person. The posts that deal primarily with reading are first, and the ones that deal more with writing are after that.

1. Before I Fall book review
I don’t generally give books 10 star ratings, but this book deserved it for the single fact that I went from hating the main character and being glad that she died to sobbing and hoping that she could find a way to save herself. It’s rare that I can read a book about a character I can’t stand and actually finish reading it, but I couldn’t put this book down. This is the type of author I want to be, the kind that can make you fall in love with characters you previously couldn’t stand.

2. Top Ten Favorite Authors
I like this post because it shows how diverse my reading interests are. I have fantasy, urban fantasy, literary fiction, young adult, comedy/satire, and mainstream books on that list. It may no be the most diverse list ever or anything, but I like the fact that it’s not focused just on one or two genres. Some people have one genre that they like to read or write, and that’s great, but I’m not like that. I don’t focus my reading on one genre, nor do I focus my writing on one genre. I write fantasy, literary fiction, young adult, satire, new adult… Granted, most of my books would fall in the YA category first, but not all of them, and this post helps show that.

3. Prep book review
It’s rare that I find a character that I can relate to on so many levels. Lee is one of those characters. She’s observant and is constantly afraid of doing or saying something stupid. When she finally does break out of her shell a little, she ends up ruining things. She and I aren’t completely alike, but I can understand her motivations. A lot of people who read this book didn’t like it, but I thought it was great.

4. Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me of Myself or Someone I Know in Real Life
What better way to represent myself than to share a list of characters who remind me of myself? There’s at least one on there who reminds me of someone else, but most of these characters remind me of myself in some small way.

5. Top Ten Summer TBR List
I rarely post about non-fiction books on this site, but this post is almost exclusively non-fiction. If you ever wanted to know my opinion on anything outside of reading/writing, this would be the entry to read, as the books I put on this list say a lot about my viewpoints on things.

6. Why do I write, and who do I write for?
A friend posed these questions on her blog, and I felt the need to respond. Everyone writes for different reasons, and knowing those reasons can tell you a lot about a person. This post definitely shows who I am as a writer but also who I am as a person.

7. Older But Not Wiser
In which I reflect on some of the main problems I have with my writing. I’m still struggling with most of those problems, but I’m also learning from them.

8. “Afternoons and mornings, I threw them all away…”
This post focuses on another problem I have: using my time wisely. It also shows what my schedule looks like for the fall, and how busy I’ll be with work and school and writing. It should be an interesting semester.

9. Lucky Sevens
I talk about writing a lot on this blog, but I rarely ever actually post my writing. This is the exception.

10. How Do You Finish a Novel?
This is one of the biggest problems I have with writing, and, as you can see from this post, I’ve had it for rather a while.

Posted on August 7, 2012, in Reading, school, TopTen, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice. I like this assortment of posts. You’re generally very open about your writing, and your honest opinions on books — a good quality to have! 🙂

    • Thanks! I figure if nothing else, writing about my shortcomings will motivate me to make it better. 😀

      • So true. I realized I may have made a mistake in not editing my June novel before coming into August for another Camp. The mistake is that I’m not as aware of my own shortcomings as I COULD be had I read over my June novel and made appropriate edits. Good on you for being aware of your own and being brave enough to write about them on your blog! 🙂

      • I don’t think I’ve been called brave for anything, so thanks! That made me smile. 🙂 Sadly, I think I’m better at acknowledging my problems than fixing them. Still, I guess that’s a good first step!

        And you never know – maybe it’s a good thing you didn’t edit it. This way you’re not worrying about everything you write, hoping that you don’t mess up. Maybe now you can just relax, write your short stories, and then look at everything after Camp and see which problems were just with the novel and which are with your writing as a whole? Just a thought. I’m not really sure I make sense anymore. 😀

Leave a Reply

