Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite books You’ve Read During the Lifespan of Your Blog.

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Favorite Books You’ve Read During the Lifespan of Your Blog.

This is actually one of the easiest Top Ten entries I’ve written so far. I’ve been keeping up with every book that I’ve read so far for my 52 books in 52 weeks challenge. The following are my top ten books, linked to my review of them, in no particular order.

1. The Hunger Games
This was the first book I read this year, the first book I reviewed on my blog, and I couldn’t imagine a better book to start the year out with. A great cast of characters, a fast-paced plot, and a criticism of American pop culture. What more could you possibly want from a novel? I loved this book. The other two in the series were interesting reads, but I don’t think either of them quite lived up to the awesomeness that was this first book.

2. Prep
Whenever I talk about my favorite books, this book sneaks onto the list. If you’re not a fan of whiney, insecure characters who obsess about everything, this probably isn’t the book for you. I, however, found the main character, Lee, to be extremely realistic and incredibly easy to relate to, so I loved this book.

3. Cinder
The best fairy tale retelling I’ve ever read. A cyborg Cinderella, an evil moon queen…it’s just an awesome book. One of the “twists” at the end was rather predictable , sure, but the novel as a whole was interesting, and I’m looking forward to the next installment.

4. Before I Fall
It’s rare that a novel can focus on a character so incredibly unlike me and not only make me keep reading until the end but also completely change my mind about the character. An absolute joy to read. I cannot recommend this book enough.

5. Thirteen Reasons Why
This is another one of my new favorites. I don’t know if I’ve ever been so hooked on a book that wasn’t part of a series. I had to keep reading to find out what her thirteen reasons were for killing herself. It wasn’t quite what I expected, but in a way that just makes it more interesting. I would definitely recommend this book for teens.

6. The Ultimate Vegan Guide
I’ve read many books on becoming vegan this year, but this one was the most direct, amusing, and fun to read. If you’ve ever considered going vegan, or want to know why someone in your life has chosen this lifestyle, this is the book for you.

7. What Happened to Goodbye
All of Sarah Dessen’s books were great, but this one has to be really high up on my list. The characters are flawed but real, and for once it didn’t have the ending that I thought it would, so that was a nice change. Definitely one of my favorites.

8. Mistborn
The first Brandon Sanderson book that I’ve read, and after reading this, I can understand why they chose him to finish The Wheel of Time. He’s great at world-building and at creating interesting characters that you can’t help but cheer for. I haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I’m definitely looking forward to doing so.

9. Just Listen
I wasn’t sure which other Sarah Dessen book to include in this list, but I finally settled on this one because I found the characters really interesting and realistic. There were multiple storylines in this one, but they were weaved together nicely. I always like when an author can take a character type I hate and make me not hate them quite as much. She didn’t do as good a job as Lauren Oliver did in Before I Fall, but she still did a decent job.

10. Everything Bad is Good for You
I find myself talking about this book a lot in real life, so it should probably make this list. Everyone always talks about how pop culture is ruining society, but this book actually talks about how the opposite is true. If you’re a fan of video games and television (although we’re talking shows like Lost and 24, not the Real Housewives of anywhere), and you’re sick of people talking about how such things are ruining society, then you’d probably like to read this book.

Posted on August 21, 2012, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

