Post 100!

This post marks my 100th post on this blog. I’m excited. I’ve lost track of how many different blogs I’ve tried to start over the years, and none of them has lasted this long – with the exception of my livejournal account, but that was more of a place to rant than it was to talk about anything important, so I’m not counting that one. 😀

I didn’t get as much accomplished over Labor Day weekend as I would have liked, but I still made progress. I wrote 4,183 words and wrote the next two chapters. Sadly, I’m still on the second month of the story, but I only have one chapter left before I can move on to October, so I’ll be happy with that. My goal is to write that chapter tonight. It’s sort of funny, though – I keep worrying that my chapters are going to be super short, so I take my time and try to find things to add, and then they end up being well over 3,000 words long. It’s not that the things I’m adding don’t fit; I guess I just write more than I think I do. Most of the stuff I’m adding works with the story, though, or at least it seems that way now. I never write a scene just to add words. I’ve done that in the past, and it just doesn’t do any good. Now, sure, I’ve written scenes that I know are horrible just to get them down, but that’s different. Writing something you know you’ll have to edit later is one thing; writing something you know you’re going to delete is quite another.

That said, the least chapter I wrote was about 1300 words. So apparently I can write short chapters. Good to know.

I was supposed to write a Top Ten Tuesday post today, but I forgot about it until I got home from work and saw the list of similar posts in my inbox. Really, though, today was a good day to forget about it, as it’s a really easy topic. I was supposed to share the Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR List. Instead, I will just refer the curious back to my Top Ten Books on My Summer TBR List, as I have yet to read any of the books on that list. Shame on me, I know. I started reading more young adult fiction right after I made that post, and I never really got around to reading the other books I wanted to read. I probably still won’t get to them this fall, but if I have time I would like to.

In unrelated news, I’ve finished my homework for the next week and a half. I don’t know if all of my grad school courses are going to be this easy, but I certainly won’t complain if they are!

And now I should really get back to writing. Samantha and Chloe are about to have their first bonding moment, and I’ve been looking forward to writing this scene. 🙂

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Let Go, school, TopTen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

