45.5 days until NaNoWriMo 2012

Holy crap. How did that happen? Two weeks until the NaNo forums are cleaned in preparation for the new year. It’s crazy. I don’t know how the time passed so quickly. What have I been doing with all my time? I was supposed to be working on the first draft of Let Go and finishing the first round of edits for Tilt Your Head and Smile, as well as working on outlining my NaNo project(s) – not to mention all the homework that I want to have done before then.

What have I actually accomplished so far? I’ve managed to stay a week and a half ahead of my classes as far as the homework is concerned. I’ve added about 11k to Let Go. I haven’t even looked at Tilt Your Head and Smile since July. I’ve added some more notes to my main NaNo project, but I’m not really much closer to figuring everything out than I was last month.

On the plus side, I have gotten more writing done this weekend. We left the house yesterday and hung out at the coffee shop down the street. I managed to write about 3k while I was there. I finished chapter 10 and started chapter 11. I’ve only written about 800 words so far today, but I’m a little over the halfway point for chapter 11, and chapter 12 should be really easy to write. I think I just needed to get over that little hurdle with chapter 9 (which was a big turning point for two of the characters). Now I’m feeling better about my novel again and am starting to get more into the NaNo spirit.

I also found out that one of the people I work with knows about NaNo and is planning on doing it this year. That was exciting. Most of the people at work just look at me like I’m crazy when I talk about NaNo. I’m hoping I can encourage her to go to write-ins or at the very least hang out in the NaNoLanta chat room, as that’s really what helps me during November. Because, despite what it looks like on this blog, I really can write a lot when I sit down and focus. I’ve just let myself get too distracted with other things for the past, you know, eight months.

But that’s going to change now. I have 22 chapters left to write for Let Go. I have 17 chapters left to edit for Tilt. I have at least one novel to outline for NaNo, though I would like to have two planned, just in case I actually manage to write as much as I was hoping to this year. I also have all of my big assignments for both classes due throughout the month of November. I’m going to try to do most of those in October, but I can only do so much ahead of time.

My goal for today is to finish writing the next chapter and a half of Let Go and to finish next week’s reading for my Foundations of Education class. I only have one chapter left to read, so it shouldn’t take me too long. Then I should really write my review for The Fault in Our Stars, which I finished a few days ago but haven’t gotten around to reviewing yet.

Posted on September 16, 2012, in Editing, Let Go, NaNoWriMo, outlining, Planning, school, Tilt Your Head and Smile, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you have a to do list like mine. Just work through it one bit at a time and you’ll get through it. Lots of time until NaNo. I mean, we only finished Camp a few weeks ago. 🙂

    • Haha. Reading your post actually encouraged me to stop and think about everything that I need to do before November. 😀

      I know that you’ll finish everything on your list because you’re awesome and disciplined like that. My hope is that I can force myself to actually follow through with my plans this time, too. And you’re right – there really is plenty of time before November. I just need to use that time wisely!

      • Thanks! I always try to keep focused on what I need to do now, while having the the back of my mind the next two tasks I have on the list. That way, what I have coming up has a chance to percolate a bit, as I’m working on the immediate task.

        I’m sure you’ll make it. Just keep track of where you’re spending your time and evaluate if it’s the best use of it. That’s one of the big things I do when I have a lot going on.

  2. That’s cool that your co-worker is doing NaNo! Since I joined a creative writing group this semester in school, I’ve got all my fingers and toes crossed that I can get a bunch of them to do NaNo with me. It would be the perfect support group/atmosphere for it.

    I’m interested in seeing your review on The Fault in Our Stars. My sister and I discussed this book a lot after we read it, so I’m always curious about how other people felt about it.

    • I really hope you find some people to do NaNo with! It’s a lot more fun when you know people who are doing it. One year, my roommate and our friend one room over were doing it with me, and even though we all lost that year, it was so much fun to write together and cheer each other on. 🙂

  3. I sympathize! I have a poetry-analysis paper (at least 6 pages) due in October and another (at least 4 pages) due in November, but I’m planning to get them each done a month early. That is, if my physics class wants to stop being a bastard. (Every time I think I’m starting to get it, it’s like, “JUST KIDDING.” I really don’t want to fail tomorrow’s test…if I fail the class then I’ll have to sit through this crap AGAIN.) But anyway, I started counting down about a week ago. 🙂 EXCITED.

    • Seems like you have a lot more to deal with than I do. I have a bunch of stuff due, but at least most of mine is easy – just time-consuming. I have a lesson-plan project due in various parts throughout the next two months, but I think I finally have a clue what I’m doing.

      I wish I remember more of physics from high school.I think the only things I still remember are V=IR and F=ma. Not really all that helpful. But good luck on your test! I hope you do well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

