Book 42: What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Title: What’s Left of Me
Author: Kat Zhang
Page Count:
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Young adult dystopia

Rating: 8/10

Summary from goodreads:
Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.

Opinion:
I’ve heard so many great things about this book that I was almost afraid to read it. I was afraid that it wouldn’t live up to the hype and that I’d be left with another book that I had to force myself to finish. While it didn’t quite live up to my expectations, I’m glad to say that I still enjoyed it.

I’ll start with the characters. Zhang does a great job of creating two distinct voices in the same body. I can’t imagine what it would be like to share a body with my sister, but Eva and Addie manage it beautifully. They still fight, as is to be expected, but they still look out for each other. I found both characters to be believable. We didn’t get as much of an insight into the other characters, but we still learned enough about them to make them seem real, at least for the most part. The government workers were the stereotypical bad guys for the most part, but it sort of worked. And I could definitely understand why her parents made the choices they made.

The world building was interesting. I still don’t exactly understand everything, like why they’ve decided that hybrids are so dangerous, but this is only book one of the series, so I’m hoping to learn more about it in later books. As it stands now, we get a great view of how things are now but not really much of a view about how things got that way.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. I wasn’t so wrapped up in the book that I couldn’t put it down, but at the same time I was never bored. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, whenever it comes out. This book brought up a lot of interesting ties to our world, and I’m interested in seeing what the next book adds to it.

Posted on September 22, 2012, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

