Top Ten Tuesday: Series You Didn’t Finish

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten series I haven’t finished – for whatever reason.

Gee, there are so many series that I haven’t finished yet. We’ll start with the series that I intend to finish but just haven’t gotten around to yet. All links take you to the GoodReads page for the first book in the series.

1. The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan
My boyfriend introduced me to this series, and I’ve enjoyed most of what I’ve read, even if it can be a bit sexist at times. That said, each book is like 800 pages long, and there are like twelve books in the series or something like that, and I’m only on book three – so I’ll probably be reading this series for a while.

2. Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson
I really enjoyed the first book in this series. However, I’ve been focusing more on the types of books that I would want to write lately, so I haven’t been reading that much fantasy lately.

3. The Nightrunner series by Lynn Flewelling
Oh, look, another fantasy series I started reading, really enjoyed, but haven’t gotten around to finishing yet. There are at least five books currently in this series (though it’s possible there’s a sixth one out), and I’ve only read the first four. I absolutely loved the first three, enjoyed the fourth one, and then a huge chunk of time passed between when I read the fourth and bought the fifth, and it’s been so long that I forgot what happened. I feel like I should reread the first ones before I attempt the most recent, but rereading a book when my TBR list is so long seems stupid, so I haven’t really attempted this book in a long time.

4. The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
Okay, I swear that all of the books on this list won’t be fantasy. 😀 That said, I love this series. They’re clever and interesting and funny, and they always keep me guessing. There are just so many of them, and I haven’t been reading as much fantasy lately (as previously stated). I do, however, have every intention of finishing this series, as it really is great.

5. The Coffeehouse Myseries by Cleo Coyle
I’ve read three of these books so far, and I’ve enjoyed them for the most part. Sadly, this is a series that you really can’t read back to back, as there’s so much repetition. The characters are interesting, and they’re quick reads, but they don’t hold my interest quite like the other books on the top part of this list. I’ll probably get around to reading more of them, but they’re not high up on my list.

6. Divergent series by Veronica Roth
I enjoyed the first book. I have every intention to read the next book. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. The copy I reserved from the library is in, though, so I’ll probably be starting the next one in the next few days.

And now for the book series that I probably won’t be finishing.

7. Matched series by Ally Condie
I read the first book in the series, and I thought it was all right. I don’t understand why so many people love it, but it was interesting enough. I’m not sure if I’ll get around to reading the second two books in the series, but it’s a possibility.

8. Fifty Shades series by E.L. James
I didn’t hate the first book like a lot of people did, but I also can’t find myself interested in it enough to keep reading the series. I’m not going to say that I’ll never finish it, but I definitely don’t see myself reading it any time soon.

9. Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer
This is definitely a series that I didn’t finish because I didn’t like it. I read the first one so that I could judge it fairly. The second one I read because I heard that it wasn’t as bad as the first one. The third and forth ones I just couldn’t bring myself to read. If I ever do get around to reading them, it would be so that I could properly insult the entire series. Since there are many better uses for my time, it’s a safe bet to say that I will not be finishing this series.

10. The Unicorn Chronicles by Bruce Coville
I loved the first book when I was younger. I remember my friend in second grade trying to get me to read it, and it wasn’t until I was in fifth grade that I finally got around to reading it, and I loved it, but I couldn’t find the next books in the series anywhere. I recently found the entire series at the library, but I could no longer finish it. It just didn’t interest me the same as it did when I was younger. I was sad about that, but I couldn’t force myself to read three more books just to relive my childhood. It wasn’t worth it. But young kids might still enjoy them!

What about the rest of you? Any series that you started but didn’t finish? Did you not finish because you didn’t like them, or because you just haven’t gotten around to it yet?

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I haven’t read any of your top 6 series. But I’m in the same boat with Twilight. I read 1 and 2 and an eensy bit of 3 but just could not stand it any longer. I kept thinking “some please kill Bella!” I loved Brue Coville’s Unicorn series but have only read the first three. That could have been on my list!

    Here’s my Top Ten

    • I haven’t even heard of any of your top ten! Haha. But I completely agree about Bella! And I really wanted to keep reading the Unicorn series, but I couldn’t get into it again. Maybe if I ever have kids I’ll find the books and try them again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

