29 days until NaNo!

I can’t believe it’s October already. Only 29 days until NaNo ’12. I’m so excited! I haven’t done as much as I would like to have done by this point, but I’ve still made some progress. For instance, I finally feel like I’m starting to grasp the plot of my novel. I’ve known what the overall plot is for years, but I didn’t know the specifics. I’m much closer now. I have the major plot points down – or at least a lot of the major ones. I’m still a bit fuzzy on, well, everything, but at least I have blurry images to work with. That’s much more than I had this time yesterday. My drive to work this morning was very helpful. Apparently waking up at 4:30 and driving to a school an hour and a half away can actually be good for something. Who knew?

I’m also doing well on the homework front. When I first started grad school, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to write a lot because I’d have too much work to do. I’m glad to say that that doesn’t seem to be a problem. I’m 2-3 weeks ahead in all of my classes, which means I should be able to do the rest of my work in October so that I don’t have to do anything in November, or at least so I don’t have to do that much.

It’s probably good that I’ve gotten so much work done ahead of time, as the new NaNo forums are up, and I’m probably going to spend a lot of time cruising the forums. I’ve also agreed to run the Adopt-a-Newbie program for NaNoLanta, so hopefully soon I’ll be busy matching new Wrimos with mentors. This is one of the reasons I love my region – there are so many ways to get involved in the community.

Another reason I love them is because there are already two weekly recurring events on our regional calendar, not to mention several different kickoffs, the Ikea write-in, and Atlanta’s very own version of the Night of Writing Dangerously, which our wonderful MLs have named the Evening of Writing Wildly.

The more I think about it, the more excited I get about NaNo. If I had an actual outline for my novel, I would want it to be November 1 right now. Since I still need to work out a few details about my novel (such as, you know, the main character’s name), I think I’ll settle for NaNo still being 29 days away. 🙂

How about the rest of you? Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? Are you prepared? What do you still need to do before November hits?

Posted on October 2, 2012, in NaNoWriMo, Planning, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I totally understand that comment about if you had an outline. Omg, I want to start writing. This time last year, I was just getting the idea I ended up doing for NaNo. Of course, I didn’t decide to do NaNo until about a week or so before November. Maybe that’s why I ended up having to rewrite the whole thing. Don’t think that’ll be a problem this year.

    Glad to hear your own preparation has been going well.

    • Yeah, my first NaNo I registered about 8 pm on October 31. I won, but that “novel” was a huge failure! All I learned was that I cannot be funny on command. So, I guess it wasn’t a complete waste of time. 🙂

      Just hold out a little while longer! It’s almost time to write…sort of.

  2. That’s so cool that you guys have an adopt-a-newbie program! I mean, I may be adopting some newbies by default because I’m running Nano for my university’s Writer’s Guild – part of that is guiding any first-time Nanoers through their doubt, lack of time management, and writer’s block – but I think it would be so cool to have an actual program for it. Gah, and ever since I finished my outline I’ve been super-frustrated, because I want to just forge ahead, and…I can’t. Drats. CURSE YOU, NOVEMBER! *shakes fist at sky* Why must you be so far away???

    • Haha. Yeah, part of me is almost glad that my outline’s not done yet. It makes me glad that October’s still here. 😀 And I think it’s really cool that your university has a NaNo program. My last year, they started to form a NaNo club at my school. I actually helped write the manifesto for it, but I graduated before NaNo actually hit. Either that or that was the year that I completely bombed. I can’t really remember.

      But yeah, we have a lot of fun in my region. I think that’s part of why I’ve had so much more success now than I did when I was in college. NaNo’s so much more fun when you have a group of people cheering you on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

