Now what?

NaNo 2012 starts in less than four days – about three days and ten hours to be more precise. I’m excited and nervous at the same time. Of course, that’s usual for this time of year. The closer we get to November, the more I freak out. No matter how many times I do NaNo, no matter how many words I’ve written in the past, I still get nervous at the start of the month. I think the fact that I’m going to for such a high word count just adds to the stress. Don’t get me wrong – I’m still looking forward to NaNo, and I love aiming for a high word count – I just also freak out a little right before it starts. Once the month actually begins, I’ll feel much better.

In the mean time, I’m not really sure what I’m supposed to do with my time. For the first time this month, I understand the rest of you who have had your outlines written for weeks. I have outlined both of my main projects for this month. I also have half-completed outlines for the sequel to one of those projects and the novel that I’ll probably be working on for 50k weekend. I suppose I can finish up those outlines, but the one won’t really take that much time (as it’s just a matter of writing down what I already planned in my head) and the other one I don’t really want to plan too much (because I want to try pantsing a novel for once).

In other news, I decided to get a new keyboard. After the carpal tunnel scare (which may or may not still be true – I really should go back to the doctor soon), I’ve decided to try to be nicer to my wrists. I’m working on learning Dvorak. I’m up to 20-30 wpm most of the time. I’m probably going to stick with Qwerty, at least for the first day of NaNo, but I might try to write more in Dvorak later in the month. No matter what, the new ergonomic keyboard I got should help. I signed up for a 6 month trial of Amazon Prime, so I saved 48 percent of the cost and got free 2-day shipping, so it should be here Tuesday. I also got colorful Dvorak stickers to put on it that will help me learn Dvorak.

Our regional kickoff party is tonight. My boyfriend and I are going down early to try to save seats. I’m excited. It’ll be fun to see a bunch of the veteran Wrimos again. November really is the best time of the year. It’s the one time of the year when I actually leave my house and voluntarily interact with other people. 🙂

I still have over 3 hours until the kickoff party. I will probably spend that time in the NaNoLanta chatroom and cruising the NaNo forums, as that’s basically all I do now. Oh, I suppose I could do my last reading for class, too. But that would be less fun. 🙂

Posted on October 28, 2012, in NaNoWriMo, outlining, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This really is the most amazing time of year. I can’t stop buzzing with anticipation, or racing off to the library for some last minute research! Eeep, 3 more daaays!

  2. What is a Dvorak keyboard? Are the keys just configured differently (presumably with d-v-o-r-a-k across the top left rather than q-w-e-r-t-y)? Also, it would be a little embarrassing to use unless you were in the privacy of your own bedroom (at least, I think so), but if carpal tunnel is a problem you can always get Dragon. It’s this software that allows you to speak your words to the computer. My boyfriend just got it last month. The only thing is, sometimes it doesn’t type what you want. Like if you want to say “time-period,” it might do this: “time.” And you have to actually say “comma” and stuff like that, if you want punctuation…

    I considered writing the outlines for the other two books in the trilogy, but I don’t really want to write them until I finish this draft of the first book, because what if it changes as I’m writing it and my new outlines are useless? But it’s very tempting, because it’d be something to do…

    • I actually think Dvorak is the name of the guy who created it, but I could be wrong. It’s a different layout that puts the keys you use most on the home row. I actually might write a post about this tomorrow because, well, what else do I have to do before November starts? 😀

      Someone else suggested Dragon, but I tend to mumble, and I’d probably get a bunch of garbage. Besides, I’m only out of my house writing during November, and then I’m surrounded by other Wrimos, so the embarrassment factor would be relatively low.

      I can definitely understand your reluctance to outline the rest of the trilogy. I have one trilogy that I’ve tried to write, and I’ve found that it helps to at least have an overall outline/understanding of the series before I start so I know what I’m working for, but I wouldn’t want to do too much. That’s also why I can’t write out of order – I change my mind too much when I write!

  3. Enjoy the free time! Although I must say, I’m really excited for Thursday to finally start as well… And at the same time, I feel there’s always more that I could do. You’re so right as well about the nerves being worse before the start.

Leave a Reply

