Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read in 2012

Okay, so it’s been rather a while since I participated in Top Ten Tuesday. I wish I could blame NaNo, but I’m afraid it’s actually been longer than that since I stopped. Still, I rather liked today’s topic, and I’m going to do my best to keep up with this from now on. I’ve been neglecting this blog too much, and it’s time that stopped.

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the Top 10 Books I Read in 2012.

And here are the books…in no particular order.

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
This was the first book that I read this year, and it was definitely one of the best. I can’t believe it took me so long to read this book, but I’m glad I finally got around to it. I definitely understand why this is such a big phenomenon. I loved the second and third books, as well, but I think this one is the best. Since I only have ten spots, I don’t want to use up three for this series, so I’ll just leave it as book 1 with books 2 and 3 serving as honorable mentions. If you haven’t gotten around to reading this series yet, I would recommend it.

2. Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld
I’ve read this book before, but I reread it this year, and I liked it even more the second time. This definitely isn’t a book for everyone. It definitely falls under the “literary fiction” category, as it’s mostly about one girl’s life in a boarding school. Not a lot happens other than day-to-day stuff. I love this book because the main character, Lee Fiora, is so incredibly awkward, and she reminds me a lot of myself. She’s so afraid of saying something wrong or stupid that she doesn’t say anything at all – that is, until she says something that makes everyone hate her.

3. The Ultimate Vegan Guide by Erik Marcus
Back in April, I was doing research for Script Frenzy, and I came across a bunch of videos that made me decide to go vegan. This was the first book that I bought after that. The Kindle edition is 99 cents, and it has a lot of really helpful information about making the transition to a vegan life. If anyone’s interested in going vegan, or at least wants to understand why people would chose to be vegan, this is a great book to read.

4. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
I absolutely hated the main character in the beginning of this book, and yet I never considered putting the book down – and that doesn’t usually happen with me. This book kept my attention the whole time, and the characters felt real to me. I really enjoyed this book. The transformation of the main character was slow and believable. If this teaching thing actually works out for me, this is definitely one of the first books I’m putting on my shelf for the students to read if they choose.

5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
This is the best fairy tale retelling I’ve ever read, as it’s not just the story of Cinderella. This is the first book in a four-book series, and I have high hopes for the rest of the series, the next installment of which comes out in February. The characters were quite realistic, even the mean ones, and I just love the world that Meyer created. And, okay, I have a bit of a soft spot for books that started as NaNo novels. 🙂

6. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
This is another book that I’m going to have on my classroom bookshelf, provided I manage to find a job as a teacher after I graduate. The girl the main character has a crush on kills herself and leaves behind thirteen tapes detailing why she did so. I couldn’t stop reading this book. I had to know why she did it. I definitely didn’t agree with the choices that she made, but I thought it was really interesting to read about it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

7. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
I’ve heard great things about John Green, and after reading this book, I understand why people love him. I definitely plan on reading more John Green novels next year, as I loved this one. The characters were interesting and funny despite the horrible situation they find themselves in, and I really liked this book, even though it definitely had me crying in parts. John Green certainly has a gift for making you laugh in one sentence and making you want to cry in the next sentence.

8. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
I’ve read all of Sarah Dessen’s novels this year, and while I enjoyed all of them, this is the one that sticks with me. I like that the other characters have their own issues, as well, that it’s not just about the main character. It deals with the same subject matter as Speak does, though it deals with it in a way that’s much more interesting to read (at least in my opinion, though I know I’m in the minority with this opinion).

9. This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
This is the first zombie book that I’ve read, and I loved that it still mostly about the characters and less about the zombies. The characters were flawed in realistic ways, and I really enjoyed this book, at least for the first three-fourths of the book. I’m still not entirely sure how I feel about the ending, but I’m glad I read this book. It’s not one of my favorites out of all of the books that I’ve ever read, but it’s definitely one of the ones that stood out this year.

10. Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo
Okay, this one shouldn’t actually be on this list, as I’m not really all that far into this book, but I’m enjoying it so much so far that I would be remiss not to include it. I see so much of my nineteen-year-old self in Amelia, and I have to keep putting the book down to giggle about how much I can relate to her, and that’s why I feel that I have to include it on this list. Even if I end up hating it (which I doubt I will), I absolutely love the beginning of it enough to earn it a place on this list.

What about the rest of you? Have you read/enjoyed any of the books on my list? What are your favorite books that you’ve read this year?

Posted on December 18, 2012, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

