Book 46: Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo

This is the only book that I have ever preordered. I read the summary, and I knew I had to read it. It wasn’t until I finally had the copy in my hands, after waiting for months, that I learned that his book was already published in Australia under the name “Good Oil.” I wish I had known about this years ago – I could have asked my friend to pick me up a copy when she was studying abroad in Australia. 😀

Title: Love and Other Perishable Items
Author: Laura Buzo
Page Count: 243
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: YA Contempory

Rating: 10/10

GoodReads Summary:
Love is awkward, Amelia should know.

From the moment she sets eyes on Chris, she is a goner. Lost. Sunk. Head over heels infatuated with him. It’s problematic, since Chris, 21, is a sophisticated university student, while Amelia, is 15.

Amelia isn’t stupid. She knows it’s not gonna happen. So she plays it cool around Chris—at least, as cool as she can. Working checkout together at the local supermarket, they strike up a friendship: swapping life stories, bantering about everything from classic books to B movies, and cataloging the many injustices of growing up. As time goes on, Amelia’s crush doesn’t seem so one-sided anymore. But if Chris likes her back, what then? Can two people in such different places in life really be together?

Opinion:
I absolutely loved this book. I am also biased, as the reason I love this book so much is because it brings me back to myself at nineteen, working a crappy job alongside a cute, funny guy (coincidentally named Chris) who was four-five years older than me and completely out of my league, even though we talked all the time about everything. Reading this book was seriously like reading an alternate universe fan fiction of my own life. It took me several days to really get into the book because I had to keep putting the book down in order to giggle over another similarity that I had read. When I finally did get around to actually reading it, I read it fast. I laughed. I nearly cried. It was a great book, one that I am very glad that I now own.

I’m not sure what my opinion would be if I couldn’t relate so well to the characters, but I’m pretty sure that I would still have enjoyed it. Amelia is awkward at times and gets a bit carried away with her anger, but that definitely seems like something a fifteen-year-old would do. Hell, that’s something that I still do sometimes. I didn’t agree with her idea that feminism screws over women, but I’m glad that feminism was talked about. I loved the conversations that she and Chris had.

I also love that we got to see things from both Amelia’s and Chris’s points of view. I definitely preferred reading things from Amelia’s point of view, but it was still great to see things from Chris’s point of view. It was rather sobering but at times hopeful, as well. I was definitely routing for Amelia, even though the age difference is rather huge at that age. And it was nice to see a novel that focuses on a girl with a crush on one guy, rather than a girl who has to pick between two guys. It was realistic, and I was definitely a nice change of pace.

If you’re a fan of realistic young adult contemporary novels that focus on the romance and not much else, you will probably greatly enjoy this book. If you’ve ever suffered from prolonged unrequited love, you will probably enjoy this book. If you prefer action books where the romance takes a back seat to a gripping plot – then you probably don’t want to read this book. But everyone else definitely should. 🙂

Posted on December 19, 2012, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Aw, what are the chances that your stories would be so similar?! That’s so cool. I loved how fun, and yet realistic, this one was! I also disagreed with Amelia’s take on feminism, but was definitely interested in her thought process behind it – I loved her!!

    • So did I! And it really was funny how similar our situations were. I was actually talking to the guy I used to like the other day, and I found myself doing a lot of complaining. Then I thought back to Amelia and made myself stop complaining so much. 😀

Leave a Reply

