2013 Goals

With 2012 coming to a close, I figured I’d take a few minutes to jot down some of my goals for the upcoming year. I didn’t do so well with most of my goals for 2012, but writing down resolutions that I don’t follow through with is sort of a tradition for me. Besides, it’s always good to keep an eye on the things that you’re working towards, right?

1: Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks – and update on the site.
I didn’t quite make it this year, but I got really close. I read 48 books, and I have another half hour of the next Dresden book to listen to before I’m finished with it. I’ll finish that on the way to a party tonight, which means I’ll have finished 49 books, only three away from the goal. If I hadn’t gone several months without really reading, I would definitely have made my goal. I also realized that I was posting my reviews but forgetting to link those reviews to the 52 books in 52 weeks site. I’ll be better at that next year.

2. Read at least 10 New Adult books.
New Adult focuses on protagonists who are between the ages of 18 and 25 (usually). They tell the stories of people who are out of high school but still don’t have their lives figured out. More details can be found here – 2013 New Adult Reading Challenge.

3. Finish editing the following novels:
For Real This Time
Tilt Your Head and Smile
Degeneration
Alone
Choices

4. Finish writing the following novels:
God’s Love
The Story of Em
Together
Better

5. Do something to advance my writing every day.
This includes writing, reading, editing, outlining, reviewing novels, finding new writing blogs, learning more about publishing steps.

6. Participate in more challenges like Pitch Wars.
I’m not sure how many contests like this are out there, but I’ve never really looked before. That’s going to change in 2013. I learned a lot just by following the Pitch Wars people. I imagine I’ll learn a lot more the more competitions and contests that I participate in.

7. Become more social…on the Internet.
I should probably try to be more social in real life, too, but the main thing I want to focus on this year is finding other writers and expanding my knowledge about other writers and writing blogs. I’ve already started following more people on Twitter. I’ve added a few more blogs to the list that I check regularly, but I’m always looking for ways to expand that base. And that brings me to my next goal –

8. Find CPs/beta readers.
I already have one novel that’s ready for people to read. I have another that’s only a week or two away from that point. It’s time to start finding people to read them. That means I should probably stop lurking on CPseek and actually post something.

9. Exercise regularly.
Okay, this isn’t writing related, but it’s still part of what I want to do this year. I have an elliptical downstairs that my parents bought me for Christmas last year, and I’ve only been using it for the past two weeks. I’m going to continue using it 3-5 times a week, depending on if I’m working or not.

10. Continue to eat better.
Again, not writing related, but something I plan on continuing in the new year. And, all right, I wanted to end with 10 resolutions instead of 8. In April this year, while doing research for Script Frenzy, I decided to become a vegan. I stuck with being mostly vegan at home and vegetarian away from home until NaNo, when I went back to how I used to eat because it was easier when I was around other people and going out to write-ins all the time. Now I’ve gone back to vegan at home and vegetarian when I’m elsewhere. I’m looking up healthy recipes and trying new foods. 2013 is mostly about writing for me, but I also want to work on becoming healthier. We’ll see how that goes.

So there you have it. My goals for 2013. What about you? Do you have any goals for the new year?

Posted on December 31, 2012, in goals. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good luck on your goals! You are far more ambitious than me!

    And mucho thanks for linking the NA challenge. I’m excited about checking this out.

Leave a Reply

