Book Review: The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen

I feel a bit guilty including this as the first book that I read in the new year, as I read most of it in the past several days, trying to bring my 2012 total to 50, but I guess that’s okay. Now I’m starting the year with 1/52 books and 1/10 NA books read. There was a big sale a few days ago on YA/NA novels, and I found this for free and decided to give it a shot.

Title: The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden
Author: Jessica Sorensen
Page Count: 296
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: New Adult Contemporary

Rating: 6/10

Summary:
There are those who don’t get luck handed to them on a shiny platter, who end up in the wrong place at the wrong time, who don’t get saved.

Luck was not on Callie’s side the day of her twelfth birthday when everything was stolen from her. After it’s all over, she locks up her feelings and vows never to tell anyone what happened. Six years later her painful past consumes her life and most days it’s a struggle just to breathe.

For as long as Kayden can remember, suffering in silence was the only way to survive life. As long as he did what he was told, everything was okay. One night, after making a terrible mistake, it seems like his life might be over. Luck was on his side, though, when Callie coincidentally is in the right place at the right time and saves him.

Now he can’t stop thinking about the girl he saw at school, but never really knew. When he ends up at the same college as Callie, he does everything he can to try to get to know her. But Callie is reserved and closed off. The more he tries to be part of her life, the more he realizes Callie might need to be saved.

Opinion:
I’m not really sure what to make of this book. There were definitely parts that I liked. I liked Callie and Kayden and their best friends, Seth and Luke. I liked watching as Callie and Kayden dealt with their problems in their own ways. I’ve read a lot of stories where people have been hurt in the past and then miraculously get over it as soon as they find someone, and I’m happy to say that that’s not the case here. Their pasts weren’t just erased. I liked watching as they got to know each other more and fell in love.

That said, there were many aspects of this book that I didn’t like. First, Callie’s secret and the identity of the person who hurt her are extremely obvious, and I’m not sure if it was supposed to be or not. Kayden’s secret, as well, was fairly obvious. I also found it a bit strange that Kayden’s obsessing about the girl who saved him and then didn’t recognize her when he saw her, though his best friend did. Supposedly he didn’t recognize her because she had changed so much, but if his friend could recognize her, I feel like Kayden should have, as well.

There were a lot of typos and left out words in this novel, which might not bother other people but definitely bothered me. I found the entire story predictable and sort of clichéd. That’s not to say that it was a horrible story, though. Even though it was obvious, I still enjoyed reading it. If you’re looking for a new, original story, one that makes you think about life and question the way you view others, this definitely isn’t for you. If, however, you’re looking for an easy read about people dealing with serious problems, you might want to give this one a chance.

Posted on January 1, 2013, in 52in52, New Adult books, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you! I am reading this book on my Kindle. I am only a 1/4 into this book and I feel like the grammar police! I am finding this book to be very shallow. Her dad was his football coach and their families were friends! How did he not recognize her? Silly! I am glad I only paid 99 cents to read this book!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! So many of the other reviews I saw for this book were 5/5. To me, this book definitely read more like the sort of fan fiction I read in high school – an entertaining enough read for a rainy day, but not something that I would consider a serious novel. There are definitely parts throughout the book that rang as untrue. That said, it was super cheap, and that’s definitely a bonus. Are you going to keep reading? Because I’d be curious to see what you think of it at the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

