Book Review: Bloom by Elizabeth Scott

Title: Bloom
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Page Count: 231
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Contemporary YA

Rating: 9/10

Goodreads Summary:
There’s a difference between falling and letting go.

Lauren has a good life: decent grades, great friends, and a boyfriend every girl lusts after. So why is she so unhappy?

It takes the arrival of Evan Kirkland for Lauren to figure out the answer: She’s been holding back. She’s been denying herself a bunch of things (like sex) because staying with her loyal and gorgeous boyfriend, Dave, is the “right” thing to do. After all, who would give up the perfect boyfriend?

But as Dave starts talking more and more about their life together, planning a future Lauren simply can’t see herself in — and as Lauren’s craving for Evan, and moreover, who she is with Evan becomes all the more fierce — Lauren realizes she needs to make a choice…before one is made for her.

Opinion:
If I had read this book a few years ago, I would have hated it. I would have hated Lauren for having a boyfriend who loves her and not realizing how lucky she was that she had someone, for having someone to call a best friend and not really listening to her. But now I totally get where she’s coming from. I can understand the fear. I can understand why she would stay with someone who makes her feel safe, even if he might not be the best person for her. I can understand why she hangs out with people she doesn’t like because she knows her boyfriend wants her to. I understand how she feels, and I can sympathize with her.

That doesn’t mean that I think Lauren always made the right decisions. I think it takes her a bit too long to figure some things out, and I think she was a bit unfair to Katie. However, just because I didn’t agree with her choices sometimes doesn’t mean that I thought there was something wrong with the book. We’ve all convinced ourselves of certain things and acted upon those assumptions, just to realize later that everything would have been better if we had just talked to someone.

I really liked this book. I normally can’t stand books where the main character has to choose between two guys, especially not when she’s already dating one of the guys, but I think it works here. Evan’s not just a random guy that she sees and instantly wants to be with. They have a bit of history, which explains her initial interest in him. And I can understand why she wouldn’t want to break up with Dave, especially when he’s always talking about their future and how much his parents love her. I can understand not wanting to hurt him, even though that’s exactly what she’s doing. Again, she might not make the best decisions, but I can understand why she makes them.

Posted on January 27, 2013, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I read this one a while ago and I loved it 🙂 There’s a lot going on in this book but it all wraps up really well in the end.

Leave a Reply

