Book Review: Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

Title: Some Girls Are
Author: Courtney Summers
Page Count: 245
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Contemporary YA

Rating: 5/10

Goodreads Summary:
Climbing to the top of the social ladder is hard—falling from it is even harder. Regina Afton used to be a member of the Fearsome Fivesome, an all-girl clique both feared and revered by the students at Hallowell High… until vicious rumors about her and her best friend’s boyfriend start going around. Now Regina’s been “frozen out” and her ex-best friends are out for revenge. If Regina was guilty, it would be one thing, but the rumors are far from the terrifying truth and the bullying is getting more intense by the day. She takes solace in the company of Michael Hayden, a misfit with a tragic past who she herself used to bully. Friendship doesn’t come easily for these onetime enemies, and as Regina works hard to make amends for her past, she realizes Michael could be more than just a friend… if threats from the Fearsome Foursome don’t break them both first.

Opinion:
This book and I have a complicated relationship. Before I get into all the reasons why I didn’t like this book, I have to say that Courtney Summers is definitely a talented writer. She kept me turning the pages, even when I wanted to throw the book across the room and never look at it again. Granted, part of what kept me reading was because I was waiting for something that never happened, but she still kept me reading, and that’s what counts. She has a talent for writing, although I already knew that from a previous book of hers that I read (This is Not a Test). Actually, I also have another book of hers that I am going to start reading next (Fall for Anything), so it’s not like I dislike the writing in her books for the most part.

My problem with this book is that I don’t like any of the characters.

Maybe there are a lot of people who enjoy reading about characters that they can’t stand. Maybe there are some people who enjoy reading about people who continue to make a bad situation worse. I’m not one of them. If I have an otherwise likable character who makes the wrong choice sometimes, I can keep reading and enjoy it because it’s fun to watch people grow.

But Regina never changed. She never learned. She never grew. I suppose we’re supposed to think that she did given a choice that she made to keep her mouth shut near the end of the book, but I don’t really think that that counts. I think that was yet another stupid decision she made that was only less stupid compared to the other stupid choices she made before that.

In the beginning of the book, I felt sorry for her. I hated Kara and Anna and Donnie and Josh and all of the other people who wouldn’t listen to her and who hurt her. As time went on, though, I started to realize I hated Regina, too. I felt less bad about what was happening to her because I remembered that she deserved it. I’m not saying she deserved to be almost raped (that was horrible), but she deserved to have no friends.

I guess I kept reading this book because I was hoping I would eventually feel genuinely sorry for her. I hoped that I would start to understand her and sort of like her. That’s what happened with Before I Fall. I hated Sam in the beginning, but by the end of the book I was feeling sorry for her. I saw a few redeeming qualities in her friends, even though I hated them, as well. I don’t necessarily like the idea of excusing actions of the mean, popular people, but I like to read about realistic characters. I like to believe that everyone has a little bit of good in them, even if that good is only directed at a few people. But these characters aren’t good at all to anyone. They’re horrible to each other just like they are with everyone else, and that’s not fun to read about.

And Regina. I’m sorry, but being scared of being alone doesn’t excuse you from being part of that group. It’s not like she had no friends before she hung out with them. She had Liz, a girl she really liked, and she sold her down the drain to hang out with Anna, and I don’t understand why. I don’t understand why that is better than not being popular. Maybe it’s because I was alone most of the time in high school, but I don’t understand her at all, nor do I feel sorry for her.

I understood Regina’s anger, and I understood why wanted to get back at Kara so badly. I’m not going to lie and say that I didn’t a little bit enjoy reading about some of the stuff she did to Kara, but I also can’t say that I thought that was a smart move. I don’t understand why she would go to someone she hated right after she’s almost raped, and I don’t know why she would let someone she hated talk her out of going to the police. Everything could have been avoided if she had done that. She could have gone to her parents at any point. Hell, she could have gone to a teacher.

That’s another thing that really bothered me about this book: I have a hard time believing parents and teachers are that blind. How do you beat someone up in the hall and not have a single teacher notice? Maybe things have changed since the time this book occurred (they did have payphones, after all), but my school always had teachers nearby, if not out in the hall with us. I guess that’s part of why this book bothered me so much. I have a hard time believing that could actually happen.

The only characters I sort of liked in this were Michael and Liz, but even they bothered me. Michael bothered me because he was too nice to Regina and started liking her (I think) way too soon. I can sort of excuse some of his behavior, but I still thought he was stupid. I really liked Liz until the end of the book. I liked how she refused to forgive Regina and told Michael he was stupid for trusting her. She was the only character who made any sense. And then she did something at the end of the book that “fixes” all of the problems, and that all seemed a bit rushed and out of character for everyone involved.

The fact that I’m spending so much time complaining about this book definitely says something about it. I have very strong negative feelings about this book, but it kept me reading until the end. I have definitely read some books where I didn’t care enough about the characters to keep reading. That is the only reason I marked this book as high as I did, even if my rating still isn’t that high.

Posted on January 29, 2013, in 52in52, Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ugh, that’s a book I’m definitely never reading. Please tell me that’s not rape-as-an-easy-plot-device!

    However, I can say that at my high school, fights happened all the time without too much notice. It was only in the very well-trafficked areas in front of the admin office, or when 100 kids gathered around yelling “fight fight” that the SRO or someone jumped in. But hallway tussles were frequent, and only a few teachers were willing to step in (like the ‘Nam vet).

    That said, this experience was 2001-2005, and in a low-income area with a lot of racial/gang tensions. So who knows if it compares.

    • Damn it, WordPress. I know I typed a response to this a few days ago. 😦

      The almost-rape is the event that starts the novel. She loses all of her friends because of it (because of course it was her friend’s boyfriend who did it, and now her “friend” doesn’t believe her). The story’s been done many times before, and I just didn’t really think it was done well this time at all.

      That’s so sad about your school. I would like to say that my school was better about that, but I guess I never really saw any fights, and the only ones I heard about were ones that teachers/administrators got involved with. Then again, I didn’t really pay attention to the more social aspects of high school, so it’s possible those things happened all the time and I just didn’t know about it. I guess it’s because this book is set in a rich/white area that I find it so unlikely that the adults wouldn’t get involved. Especially two popular girls. I don’t know. Maybe I just have more faith in people than I should, which isn’t something I thought was possible given how much I hate people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

