Step 1: Create an Outline

I have this problem where I can only seem to concentrate on one thing at a time. For the past few weeks, that has mainly switched between reading vegan blogs and books and playing Borderlands. Neither is all that conducive to writing, and I was really hoping to use April to get back on track with my writing.

What I’m going to do is try using Borderlands as a reward for writing. I participated in one #writeclub sprint on Friday, and I wrote about 780 words in half an hour. That’s nowhere near what I was able to write for NaNo, but that’s pretty good considering I had no real idea what I was writing. That said, I definitely learned during that 30 minutes that I need an outline of some sort. I already have a feeling I need to completely rewrite that opening, and it’s just going to get worse from there.

My goal for tonight and tomorrow is to come up with at least a basic outline. I’ve been waiting for the story to come to me, but I think I need to be a bit more active now. I figured out the backstory for Annelise, and I have a general idea of where the plot is going to go. Now I just need to figure out what the main scenes will be for each state that she travels through. No Borderlands until I come up with an outline. That’s the plan, and I’m sticking to it!

Posted on April 7, 2013, in 2000 Miles, outlining, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I used to use video games as a reward for finishing my chores or anything else I didn’t want to do. Now I try to rush through my chores to get to writing, but today I had too much going on with chores, errands, trip to dentist (opposite of a reward) that I only had a window of about an hour for writing.

    Good luck with your outline!

    • Ooh, dentists aren’t any fun! I’m glad you at least got a little bit of writing time in, though. Once I’m in the middle of a project, I usually don’t need as many rewards. It’s the starting that’s difficult. 😀 Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

