Ton Ten Tuesday: Books I Thought I Would Like More/Less Than I Did

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books that I Thought I Would Like More/Less Than I Did.

Okay, so I haven’t participated in one of these in a while. Actually, I don’t think I’ve participated in one in all of 2013. I liked this week’s topic, though, so I decided to jump on in. I didn’t like a lot of the books that everyone else loves, so hopefully I’ll still have some blog followers after people read this. 🙂

Books I Thought I Would Like More Than I Did:
1. Matched by Ally Condie I know a lot of people liked this series, and there were certainly aspects of this book that I appreciated, but I just couldn’t get into it. I didn’t really care which person she picked, and I didn’t feel any need to read the rest of the series.

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth I kept hearing that fans of The Hunger Games would like this, so I read the first one. I didn’t hate it, but I definitely had to force myself to get through to the end, when interesting stuff started happening. I hated the Dauntless and anyone who would choose to go into that house. I’m sure she was aiming for a Gryffindor-like section, but what we ended up with a house full of jocks and army guys, all people I have never felt comfortable around and don’t really feel like reading a whole book about. I also didn’t like that the smart section was the evil section.

3. Requiem by Lauren Oliver I expected to love this book as much as I loved Before I Fall, but that didn’t happen. It didn’t help that I had just finished reading Matched and wasn’t really in the mood for another “the government is trying to keep us from true love” novel. I just couldn’t get into the story. I skipped to the end and decided it wasn’t worth finishing.

4. Starters by Lissa Price I was so excited about the idea of this novel, but I was so disappointed. I really hated this book. I forced myself to keep reading, hoping it would get better, and it just never did.

5. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson I’m sure people will hate me for this one, but I just didn’t like this book. It deals with a very important subject matter, and the message is important. I just couldn’t really get into the story. Maybe my expectations were just too high. I don’t know.

Books I thought I Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Enjoying
6. The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling My mother first told me about this series when I was in fifth grade, when only the first three were out. I thought the series sounded stupid, and I wasn’t interested. I finally gave it a shot one night when I had nothing else to read, and my life changed forever. This series helped get me into writing again, and it sparked my creativity like no other series since.

7. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith I don’t believe in the idea of “love at first sight” and therefore thought I would hate this book. I wouldn’t even have read it if a friend hadn’t recommended it to me. I’m glad she did, as this book was absolutely adorable.

8. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver I was interested in this book, but once I started reading it and realized how much I hated the main character, I thought I would hate the book. I didn’t really mean to keep reading, but somehow I was unable to stop. I ended up loving this book.

9. The English Patient by Michael OndaatjeI read this book while I was an undergrad. I wouldn’t have liked it had I read it on my own, but my professor helped us see that this book was written in response to the novel Kim by Rudyard Kipling, and I learned to appreciate this book so much more than I thought I would.

10. All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque I read this book in high school because I had to. I usually hate war novels, but to my surprise I actually enjoyed this one. I don’t remember much of it, but I do remember liking it.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

