Top Ten Tuesday: When You Need Something Light and Fun

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun.

1. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Despite the title, this book doesn’t actually fall into the insta-love trap that so many other YA books do. It’s an adorable book that would definitely turn to when I needed something light/fun.

2. Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo
First love is incredibly awkward, and this book captures that perfectly. This book brings me back to when I was 19. I couldn’t stop giggling like a mad woman while I was reading this book. It just reminded me so much of my life .

3. The Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart
I’m currently reading the last book in the series. For a series so filled with angst and drama, it definitely makes me laugh. If you haven’t read this series yet, you definitely should.

4. Can you Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella
I despise Kinsella’s Shopaholic series, but I remember liking this one when I read it in high school. The main character spills all her secrets on a flight when she thinks she’s about to die, and then she discovers that the person she blabbed to was the head of the company she works for. Definitely chick-lit, but I had a lot of fun reading this one.

5. Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen
Losing weight doesn’t magically fix all your confidence problems, and this book does a great job of addressing that. The characters are fun and interesting, and it’s definitely one of Dessen’s most light/fun books.

6. Past Perfect by Leila Sales
Competing re-enactment camps. Forbidden romance. This book is cute and fluffy, and it definitely kept me entertained. If someone was looking for a light romance to read, this would definitely be a good one to read.

7. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
This one has a few darker moments than the rest of them, but it’s still Cinderella with cyborgs, so I couldn’t not include it on this list.

8. Anything non-fiction by Laurie Notaro
I haven’t read these books since high school, so I can’t guarantee that I would still find them funny today, but I remember really enjoying these books when I first read them. I mean, how can you not love books with titles such as “I Love Everybody (And Other Atrocious Lies)” and “We Thought You Would Be Prettier”?

9. Anything non-fiction by Jen Lancaster
I haven’t read all of her books, but I read the first three that she published, and I really enjoyed them. Jennifer Lancaster goes from having everything to being broke and unemployed, and it’s fun watching her deal with things.

10. Shut Out by Kody Keplinger

This book probably should have been higher on the list, but since there’s technically no order to it, I’m no going to bother moving it. There’s a rivalry between the football and soccer players, and their girlfriends decide to withhold sex until the rivalry stops. It’s definitely a fun read, and I recommend it to anyone who likes contemporary YA.

Posted on May 7, 2013, in Reading, TopTen. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Sophie Kinsella is a fantastic author for when you want to read something light and fun. The Statistical Probability… is on my list too πŸ™‚ Fab list.

  2. I loved Love and Other Perishable Items. Such a fun read <3. Nice list!

  3. Cinder was great but I loved Scarlet even more. Nice list!

    MY TTT

    • I haven’t gotten around to reading Scarlet yet. I got a few chapters in and then my library books came in, and I’ve been distracted. I’m looking forward to finishing it, though! πŸ™‚

  4. Laurie Notaro and Jen Lancaster are two of my absolute favorite authors. I’m so glad to see them on another list!

  5. I love so many books on your list! Sophie Kinsella’s books are perfect when I need something fun to read. Great list πŸ™‚

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  6. All the love for Statistical Probability. :3

    True story: my boyfriend saw it and asked if I was doing research.

  7. I love Laurie Notaro! And I need to read some more from your list.

Leave a Reply

