Book Review: Real Live Boyfriends (Ruby Oliver #4) by E. Lockhart

Title: Real Live Boyfriends (Ruby Oliver #4)
Author: E. Lockhart
Page Count: 225
F/NF: Fiction
Genre: Contemporary YA

Rating: 10/10

Goodreads Summary:
Ruby Oliver is in love. Or it would be love, if Noel, her real live boyfriend, would call her back. But Noel seems to have turned into a pod-robot lobotomy patient, and Ruby can’t figure out why.

Not only is her romantic life a shambles:
Her dad is eating nothing but Cheetos,
Her mother’s got a piglet head in the refrigerator,
Hutch has gone to Paris to play baguette air guitar,
Gideon shows up shirtless,
And the pygmy goat Robespierre is no help whatsoever.

Will Ruby ever control her panic attacks?
Will she ever understand boys?
Will she ever stop making lists?
(No to that last one.)

Roo has lost most of her friends. She’s lost her true love, more than once. She’s lost her grandmother, her job, her reputation, and possibly her mind. But she’s never lost her sense of humor.

Opinion:
I’m so sad to be finished with this series. These books were all so much fun to read, even though they dealt with rather depressing topics at times. These books are about real teenagers who deal with regular teenager stuff. There’s none of that insta-love here. There are no magical happy endings. That’s not to say that this series doesn’t have a happy ending, but everything’s not all wrapped up with a bow. Ruby and her friends and family still have issues that they have to work through.

And that’s, I think, the great thing about these books. They’re realistic while still being highly entertaining. Lockhart manages to present the normal in a way that’s hilarious at times and sad and heartfelt at other times. I could definitely relate to Ruby a lot, and I enjoyed reading the last of her story. I wish there were more books in the series. I’ll definitely be reading more from E. Lockhart in the future, although I doubt any other book could live up to this series.

I wish I had read this series in high school. I think it would have helped me worry less about being a “roly-poly” and just focus on being myself. I will definitely be getting a copy of this series to keep in my classroom when I become a teacher.

Posted on May 13, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

