Top Ten Tuesday: Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects (abuse, suicide, grief etc or something personal hard for you)

1. Butter by Erin Jade Lange
Deals with bullying, suicide, eating disorders

2. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Deals with bullying (sort of), suicide

3. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
Deals with bullying, suicide, death

4. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
Deals with bullying, school shootings

5. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
Deals with rape, eating disorders

6. Fall for Anything by Courtney Summers
Deals with suicide

7. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Deals with cancer, death

8. Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult
Deals with child molestation, homicide

9. Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult
Deals with rape, false rape accusations

10. Slut: Growing up Female with a Bad Reputation by Leora Tanenbaum
This one is non-fiction, but I couldn’t think of a tenth book and realized that I loved this book in high school, so I might as well add it to the list.
Deals with bullying and slut-shaming

What books would be on your top ten list?

Posted on May 14, 2013, in Reading, TopTen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Some great books here. I’ve read The Fault In Our Stars and Before I Fall. Fab list!

  2. Great list. TFiOS is a really hilarious, enjoyable read, but it’s also very sobering. Thanks for sharing!

    My TTT:
    http://gobsandgobsofbooks.blogspot.com/2013/05/top-ten-books-dealing-with-tough.html

  3. Books, Tea & Me

    I also have The Fault in Our Stars and Just Listen on my list! Good selection 🙂

  4. I can’t believe I forgot about Butter! That’s a great pick. I loved Before I Fall too.

    • Thanks! Yeah, there are so many great books out there that fit into this topic. I’ve thought of several more since I made this list. 😀

Leave a Reply

