Character Monday: April Trindles (from TILT YOUR HEAD AND SMILE)

Okay, so, as someone might have noticed, I forgot to do Character Monday last week. I was reminded about it right as I was getting ready to walk out the door to hang out with some Wrimos for Memorial Day, and I didn’t get back until almost 2 in the morning. Instead of rushing to try to post something late, I decided just to skip last week.

Name: April Trindles

Novel: Tilt Your Head and Smile (Contemporary New Adult)

Age: 21

Appearance: About 5’8. Slightly heavy. Brown hair and brown eyes. When she’s going to an interview, she’s dressed in business attire. The further we progress in the novel, the more time she spends in her pajamas.

Background: April’s just graduated from college, and she finds herself moving back in with her parents and younger sister. She’s near her family and boyfriend, but she can’t seem to find a job, and that leads her slowly into depression.

Personality: Not a big risk taker. At all. Goes with the flow. Keeps her feelings to herself so she doesn’t bother anyone. Afraid to admit what she really wants out of life.

Why you should want to read her story: April was told that if she did well in school, she would do well in life. Now she’s learning that that was a big fat lie. Her dropout sister is doing better than she is. She’s in a relationship that doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. Her parents are sure to be disappointed in her. She’s the only one she knows (besides her father) who can’t find a job. Can she ever figure out what she wants out of life? And if she does, will she have the guts to go for it?

Playlist:
1. Down by Jason Walker
I shot for the sky
I’m stuck on the ground
So why do I try, I know I’m gonna to fall down

2. Shattered (Turn the Car Around) by O.A.R.
How many times can I break till I shatter?
Over the line, can’t define what I’m after
I always turn the car around

3. This is Your Life by Switchfoot
This is your life, are you who you want to be?
This is your life, is it everything you dreamed it would be

4. Downtrodden by Abney Park
I learned each virtue I was told
I worked hard to avoid the mold
But as I saw my life unfold
There was no place for me.

5. I Wish I Could Go Back to College from Avenue Q
I wish I could go back to college.
In college you know who you are.
You sit in the quad and think ‘Oh my god,
I am totally gonna go far’

Want to participate in Character Monday? Just write a post on your own blog and then click on the linky below and share the link to the post so the rest of us can learn about your awesome character!

Posted on June 3, 2013, in Character Monday, Tilt Your Head and Smile and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awww. She’ll for sure resonate with a lot of people!

Leave a Reply

