Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Summer TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a cool meme created by the people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books on my Summer TBR List.

I have so many books on my TBR list it’s not even funny. These books are all ones that I’ve purchased but have yet to read. Some of them have been sitting on my shelf (or Nook) longer than others. All of them, though, are books that I’ve been meaning to read for a while.

1. The Silent Takeover: Global Capitalism and the Death of Democracy by Noreena Hertz  

This book has probably been on this list the longest. It’s also one of the few books on this list that I have in physical form. Considering how relevant this topic is to my novel, though, I should probably start reading this one soon.

 

 2. Looking for Alaska by John Green

I’ve had this book for a while, also. I found it on sale last year, I think. I’m about a third of the way through this one, but I haven’t actually gotten around to finishing it yet.

 

 

 

3. Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer 

Here we have another book that I own in paperback. I’m actually about halfway through this one, also. I just keep getting distracted with fiction books.

 

 

4. Losing It by Cora Carmack

I’ve actually started this book, too. I really need to stop starting books before I’ve finished the last one.

 

 

 

 

5. One by LeighAnn Kopans 

This one it’s not my fault I haven’t read, as it only came out like a week ago. Still, I’ve been hearing about this one for several months now, and it sounds like a really interesting book. I can’t wait to read it.

 

6. Playing Nice by Rebekah Crane

I think this is the first book on this list that I’ve never started reading!

 

 

 

 

7. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

I’ve heard so many great things about this author, but I’ve yet to read any of her books. Part of the problem with this one is that I bought it from Amazon before I realized that my mobi-to-epub converter no longer worked, so I can’t get this on my Nook. I’ll make it work, though.

 

8. On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

This is the second book on this list that I haven’t started reading yet. I’ve heard so many great things about it, though, that I know I have to start reading it soon.

 

 

 

9. The White Road by Lynn Flewelling 

I’ve owned this book for a really long time. I actually bought it right after it came out. It had just been a while since I read the previous books in the series, and I wanted to wait until I reread the other books first. Since there are four books before this one, and they’re all rather large (typical fantasy length), I never got around to it. I think I might skip the rereading when I finally start this one. Anything I’ve forgotten, I’ll figure out as I go.

 

10. The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

This is the only book on this list that I don’t technically own, although I did buy it. I bought it as a gift for my boyfriend’s father, and then he lent them to me to read. I’ve had this series on my shelf for over a year. I keep getting distracted with YA and NA novels, and this series sort of gets left behind. I should fix that, though, as I really enjoyed the first book of this series.

 

 

Well, those are my top 10 books that I want to read this summer. Have you read any of these? What books are on your TBR list?

Posted on June 18, 2013, in 52in52, Reading. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Pushing the Limits was an awesome contemporary book! Looking For Alaska is my second favorite John Green book, I hope you get around to finishing it! Happy reading.

  2. I absolutely loved Pushing The Limits. Looking For Alaska is good too. Great list!

  3. Well I’m reading ‘Six Train To Wisconsin’ by Kourtney Heintz at the moment which I am absolutely loving. Next to read is ‘Sea of Tranquility’ 🙂 Oooo I love John Green, might have to check ‘Looking for Alaska’ out! Beth

    • Oh, Sea of Tranquility is definitely another book I want to read! Haven’t read Six Train, but I went ahead and added it to my TBR list. 🙂 I’ve only read one other John Green book (TFioS), but I definitely want to read a lot more of his work!

  4. Losing It is such a great book! I have Keeping Her on my TTT list this week.

    TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  5. Great list. I seriously have to check out one of John Green’s book and Looking for Alaska looks like a great starting book. I’ve heard so many great things about his books, hopefully they are awesome as he is 🙂

    -Mari @ The Sirenic Codex

    • I’ve only read The Fault in Our Stars before, but I really loved that one. I’ve enjoyed the parts of Looking for Alaska that I’ve already read. He seems to be a good writer from what I can tell. 🙂

  6. I was just thinking the other night about all the books I’m in the midst of yet haven’t finished. I need to push through and finish them so I can move on. Great list.

    • I would say that should definitely start finishing some of those books, but I’m hardly one to talk. 😀 Thanks for commenting! I hope you manage to finish some of your books soon!

  7. I’ve only read The Fault in Our Stars, but I really should read some other John Green books. I hope you enjoy Looking for Alaska!

    • Yeah, that’s the only John Green book I’ve read so far. I’m really enjoying LfA, though. I plan on reading all of his books at some point.

  8. Pushing the Limits is on my list 🙂 I’ve heard so many good things about it.

    Here’s my TTT: http://www.bookythoughtsandme.com/top-ten-books-at-the-top-of-my-summer-tbr-list/

  9. What diversity in this list – New Adult, Young Adult, nonfiction, etc. I hope you enjoy all of them and get to each of them this summer! (:

    • Yeah, I’m trying to get back to reading different categories and genres. I love YA, but sometimes I need to branch out and read different things. And I hope I get to all of them, too! 🙂

  10. Losing it is on my Top ten too! 🙂 Have a great Summer of reading!
    Here is my Tuesday Post.

Leave a Reply

